Posted by: David | July 10, 2011

One Weird Trick to Make a New Blog Post

This summer has been so busy at work! I’m using that as my official excuse for not posting here as often. It’s ironical sort of. I’m all tired from the taking down of old and setting up of new computers, along with the normal flow of user support calls. We are replacing over 20o computers this summer, and while that’s great and it’s going along smoothly, I think it’s making me tired.  So when I get home I don’t have the energy I like to put into these posts. 🙂


Here are some of the nice new all-in-one computers we’re setting up, in the most popular computer lab on campus. They make me tired, but happy.

The garden has been a bit of a disappointment this year. Varmints have been devouring our young plants. I managed to bring a woodchuck “to justice”, but there is a doe and her fawn that have managed to escape our patrols. I sprinkled powdered cayenne pepper around, but that didn’t work. If I ever see them in action, I intend to do whatever I can to scare the bejeeziss out of them. The pinwheel scarecrows are not working.


The deer ate our broccoli, cauliflower, and even our peppers! Bastards!

Oh well, what can you do? The garlic is doing well. Nothing is bothering the garlic. But I can’t decide whether I should cut off the scapes. In past years I’ve cut them off as soon as they appear. This year I’m thinking to leave them alone since I read on one of the million or so websites about garlic that if you leave the scapes the garlic will store better. Now the scapes have gotten quite large.


It will be time to harvest the garlic in a few weeks.

We had to put down our daughter’s horse Buddy last week. He got colicky and they couldn’t get him past it. Buddy was getting pretty old (over 25 probably) and had this colic problem a few times a year. Usually with medication and walking him around he would get better. Not this time.  So now the new pony, Jessie, is on her own. She didn’t put up too much of a fuss over it. Buddy was grief stricken for a couple of days after we’d had to put Justice to sleep a few years ago.

Following are a few random frames of scenes around the farm.


Flowering onions and leeks.


The leeks have purplish flowers. The onions, both white and red, have white flowers. We’re hoping to collect seed.


I went for a bike ride on Independence Day. Over to the kids’ house and back. The baby is doing very well. My daughter returned to work this past week.


She and daddy were watching TV on the couch. It was one of those reenactment crime shows. She looks concerned.


On the way back I stopped to chat with a couple of friends out working on a Ford Model A. Cylinder 4 wasn’t firing properly, but they were having a nice July 4 working on this antique.


This scene along side the road in Bradford, where the best fireworks show of all the surrounding towns was held on Saturday, caught my eye for some reason. 

There is no weird trick to making a blog post, by the way. I was just spoofing those stupid little ads you see on the page margins of the interwebs, selling flatter abs, better investments, a good night’s sleep, etc.  Now that I’ve explained it it’s even less amusing than it was before. And on that note, for my nerdiest friends, I close with a photo of a garment inspection discovered while in search of car keys. I bought 2 new pairs of Carhartt shorts. One pair was inspected by number 42. Time to go for another bike ride.


Have a nice day people.

Responses

  1. My aunt says that if you plant azaleas (and one other plant that’s not coming to mind) around your garden, it will keep the critters out. Not sure how effective that technique is considering she still has a fence around her garden. 😛

    Thank you for that suggestion Peter. I’m about ready to plant some .22 slugs if I ever see that damn Bambi and her kid in action. Trouble is I only see them when they’re happily prancing around in the horse pasture. Might have to look into alternate forms of deer repulsion. I don’t think azaleas and marigolds are gonna work on our deer.

  2. Marigolds was the other flower. 🙂

  3. As usual, a nice mix of happy topics. New computers (whee!), yummy garden goodies (pretty, too), a beautiful baby, an all American holiday … Life looks good in NH.

    Thank you Pied. Things are pretty good here I must agree.

  4. my uncle swears by leaving a radio on during the night in the field, to scare them there deers away. Do you have a really long cord?

    I do have a pretty long cord come to think of it. I could put the radio in the greenhouse and tune it to some blowhard talk station huh? Or would your uncle recommend music? Heavy metal? Punk? Techno fuzzy wuzzy? (I made that last one up.) I think that might just drive US a little crazy since the garden being eaten is right out in the backyard. Never had this problem when we had the sheep, whose pasture went around the other side of the garden from the horse pasture.

  5. I think I’d interplant garlic and onions between and around everything the deer are devouring and maybe a teenager to sleep in your garden with a pellet gun full of rock salt? LOL good luck (by the way, we tried it. It turns out teenagers sleep really well to the sound of deer eating!)

    Thanks Angie. That’s hilarious. They haven’t touched the garlic or onions- so your suggestion might work. But too late for this year.

  6. Quite the myriad of topics! I hardly know what to comment on. Guess I’ll not comment at all.

    Yes. Excellent comment. No comment.

    • … the baby is tres cute. Satisfied then?

      That’s better. Knew you could do it!

      • …and then the horse story made me sad.

        But he had a good life with us for 15 years.

        • …and the garlic gave me bad breath.

          Potent stuff, gives bad breath even when ingested through the interwebs!

          • …and the snap of the spilt food made me wanna barf.

            Thanks for that.

            Oh no, thank YOU for this amusing stream of commentary. I imagine that the spilt snack food made some child cry.

  7. Mmmm, venison! 😉

    I wish! Never seem to see the little bastards!

  8. 🙂

    🙂

  9. This IS a vast assortment of issues… Condolences on the mean deer problem. They are my Moriarty here. For the vegetable garden I use bird netting. Your veg beds are bigger but boy it sure works well. Annoying to lift for harvesting but at least there is something to harvest. I put it over lettuce, herbs, peppers. They even graze tomatoes here. But rose buds are their food of the gods… THAT is one cute baby. And your shorts were inspected by the number that happens to be the answer to life the universe and everything (Hitchhiker’s Guide) — that has to mean something, let me know.

    Yes! Moriarties they are! They’ve totally trashed all our brassicas. We’ll be lucky if we see a single cabbage or brussels sprout this year. The bird netting sounds like an interesting idea. So far I’ve tried powdered cayenne and lead (in the form of bullets- but they don’t seem to mind being shot at, or at least they don’t seem to remember murderous threats). Thanks for catching the HGTTG reference. I bought 2 pair of these shorts, and I can’t tell the difference when I’m wearing the ones inspected by The Answer To Life, The Universe, And Everything … It’s a bit of a disappointment really.

  10. Yay Linnie! I knew I had some sort of a connection with you! You’re a Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy fan! Dave, if you haven’t read it, it would be good hammock reading! The author’s name is Douglas Adams, another common enough name, but this guy rocks! It’s been required reading here for years!

    I posted that photo mostly for Nimish Batra, though it’s not surprising that people who’ve found time to comment here are fellow hitchhikers. I’ve been a Douglas Adams fan since the early ’80s. My wife and I listened to an early NPR serialized dramatization. Radio was our only entertainment then, we lived off the grid.

  11. If I sat at the computer by the window on a college campus, I would never get any work done. Action = distraction

    Is that a cornfield I see?

    Well lucky for you the internet was not such a huge distraction when you were in college, right? The view out this particular computer lab is of the lovely front lawn lined along picturesque Main Street by old sugar maple trees. Sometimes the students frolic in the grass with their frisbees and footballs.

    Yes Allison, the photo right above baby granddaughter is our corn patch. It’s a few thousand stalks shy of field status, but looking at makes me feel less angry about the deer damage to our beloved brassicas.

  12. Great pics as always, Dave! But what a waste of Chex mix… (I only say that because we don’t have it in Canada.)

    ps. I used to watch crime reenactment shows when I was a baby, too!

    Thanks bschooled. What Canada lacks in junk foods it more than makes up for in other areas. Humour mostly, I’m thinking, which is of inestimable importance. When a nation loses its sense of humour, the end is near. This tragedy can be summed up in one word: The Germans. But they’re good in the maths I suppose, unlike me. I have no German blood, but my best friend’s father was a WWII German refugee. And my left great toe definitely LOOKS German, which is pretty weird.

    I can’t bear watching those reenactment shows. They’re just too much. I imagine the discussions that the producers must have when they look over the public records of the deeds of our sordid lowlife brethren and sistren … “How can we make this amazing rape-dismemberment-murder case into compelling TV without spending any money on writers or actors”? It does explain a great deal in your case however.

  13. Basically, humans are never satisfied with what he can. if he lived on the plantation, she wants to live in the city and vice versa. but that can be done so we are glad and happy wherever we are, is grateful for what we have, wherever and whenever.

    One wonders how this comment escaped the spam filter. But it did.

  14. You obviously have -zero- new thoughts. *sigh*

    As usual, you have inveigled me to post. Finally. Thank you and you’re welcome.

  15. In Switzerland the farmers used to set up a hedge consisting of wood poles and a wire all around the field, and the wire would carry some electricity, but not too much. It would not electrocute anybody, but simply gave a shock. It was used to keep cows in.

    We have this kind of electric fence going around the horse pasture. It’s pretty effective for domesticated creatures, but the wild animals don’t respect it at all.


Leave a Reply

Categories

