Posted by: David | November 20, 2010

Good Day To Stay Indoors

It’s sunny but very windy outside. There are a few things I should be doing out there, harvesting parsley and leeks, digging up some more Jerusalem artichokes, giving the generator its weekly run, but instead I’m lounging in the easy chair, randomly clicking around Facebook, WordPress, Twitter, etcetera. All morning now. I put the computer down every so often to read pages from one of the 3 books going at the moment.  I’m reading Jeremy Cabbage, A Dirty Job, and a non fiction tome by Kevin Kelly called What Technology Wants. I’ve fallen behind in Hulu episodes of Stargate Universe and Fringe. I hope none of those episode expire while waiting in my queue. There is also a DVD from Netflix waiting to be watched; The Book of Eli. What a tight little spiral of distraction is drawing me in this November Saturday.


Pretty sunset of November 7, 2010. Looking west southwest.


Oliver admired the sunset too. Whenever he hears my camera power up, he figures there might be some critter in the backyard.

The guilty feeling of today’s attentionally deficient behavior is driving this blog post. So watch out, dear reader. Even knowing it’s a well deserved day of rest, somehow there’s this nagging feeling … It’s been a busy week at the college, but on the whole, things are calming down a little. Students got registered for spring semester classes the week before, and the registrar’s office asked for volunteers to help with taking in the students’ registration cards and checking them for obvious mistakes. My coworkers and I volunteered for a few 4-hour stints at this. It was actually sorta fun. Some of the students came into the office armed with Nerf guns. A week long game called Humans vs. Zombies was underway. I’ll definitely volunteer for that job again. It’s nice to interact with students in other ways besides helping them with computer tech stuff.


This week, the registrar left roses on our desks. At first we didn’t know who they were from, which was also fun.


The Executive Chef bought this 10″ chef knife for me (the one at the top).

Our campus contracts facilities, grounds, and dining services through Sodexo. Sodexo supplies computers to their employees and they set up their systems their own special way. We IT folks at the college help them get their Sodexo systems connected up to the internet as best we can, and they really appreciate the assistance. Chef Henry was showing me one of his catalogs of professional kitchen gear while we were waiting for his new computer to complete some process. I was complaining about my 8″ Calphalon knife, which would be a perfectly good knife had it not been purchased at a store that usually sells “seconds”. The 8″ blade has a nasty divot right at the heel, where one would be chopping. Plus, the 8″ size handle is just a little too small for my hand. So Henry ordered this Brazilian-made beauty for $30. Rosewood handle and all. He won’t let me pay for it. OK, I didn’t want to accept a gift for just doing my job, but in this case I’ll just go ahead and do so. As soon as I got it home I sliced up some tomatoes, onions, and the last little miniature purple cabbage from our garden.

Thanksgiving is coming right up, and we will be spending the day at our daughter and son-in-law’s new house. Their first Thanksgiving in the place. She has to work overnight the night before, so we’ll be helping out with the cooking and stuff. Should be a not-too-large gathering. We’ll be bringing brussels sprouts and squash. Probably we’ll bring the dog too, though his behavior is less than satisfactory. There are 2 cats at the kids’ house, 2 cats which he’s not had the opportunity to grope or sniff yet. The cats, named Gus and Maverick (both male) hide themselves whenever Oliver comes to visit. But they’re getting bigger, and maybe they’ll someday be brave enough to confront the terrier.


Gus.


Maverick. They’re brothers. Very people friendly, but not partial to terriers.

OK, so as the afternoon sun now pours into the living room, at least I can say that I wrote a blog post. And other assorted stuff, but only briefly. One funny idea that certainly someone else must’ve already come up with is to create a really absurdly long SMS text string, along the lines of: ROFLMAOOMFGWTFF? but surely there could be one much longer. Since I have a dumb phone, I don’t do much texting, so I’m not well versed in these “words”. Anyone care to take up this challenge? OK, whatever.


Oh yeah, and our xmas cactus is flowering.

Hope you’re all having a nice weekend.

Responses

  1. I love all your animals, but especially Oliver. He appears very smart and crafty.

    ROFLMAOOMFGWTFF = rolling on floor lubricating my ass over (and) over maybe farting guiltlessly what the fucking fuck?!

    I’m pretty sure I nailed that one. Remember, I teach children, so I know this kind of stuff.

    Um, yes VAGB. You nailed it. Except that “fuckity fuck” is preferred by most over “fucking fuck”. Good job! It’s nice to know our children have access to such an able instructor. 🙂

    Glad you liked the critters. Oliver IS very smart and crafty. Sometimes he actually CATCHES his own tail. Unfortunately he would probably try to devour your pug. He doesn’t seem to care for other dogs much, and he harasses the crap out of our cat. The cats pictured in this post belong to our daughter and son in law.

  2. What a great environment you work in. Knives and Roses– isn’t that a band? I loved your post. Hope you and your family (even the hidden in the tummy one) have a wonderful, fabulous, glorious Thanksgiving. Great post, IMHO ROFLMAOOMFGWTFFTTFN.

    Thanks Moonbeam, it IS a great environment. It’s something to be thankful for.

    Knives and Roses rocked. Loved their super-hit, “Smells Like Green Onions”. You can really dance to that tune. Except Bristol can’t.

    Thanks for extending the mega-acronym. I’d like it to go a little further.

  3. I sort of messed that comment up. WTF is wrong with me today? OMG.

    What do you mean? I thought your comment was perfect. I submitted a feature request to WordPress that would allow commenters to edit their own comments for some adjustable period of time. It hasn’t appeared yet as a feature. We need that feature WordPress. Please.

  4. Have I ever thanked you for introducing me to Hulu? If not, thank you. I’m hooked.

    Who’s the cutie next to the Christmas cactus?

    I think you did. You’re welcome. It’s nice to have control. TV has no choice but to move this way. Advertising must come along too. Alas.

    That smiley little guy is our great nephew. He’ll be a year old in January. He’s a really fast crawler now, and quite a cheery little fella.

  5. Oh, and I can’t help you with the acronyms (though it looks like you don’t need help.) I don’t talk text either.

    OK, well thanks anyway. We’ll see what we can do.

  6. I have not yet read this, because first I will have to read, remember, I once told you, long ago, that it looks as if Spain, conscously or not, was trying to undermine the Euro? Historically, they have always felt closer to Latin America than to Europe and its “Illustration”. Now here is the NYT. This is the first time that I see this spelled out:

    ““Europe can afford the collapse of Ireland, even perhaps that of Portugal, but not that of Spain, so Spain’s ultimate line of defense is in fact this knowledge that it’s too big to fail and that it represents a systemic risk for the euro”

    OK. No problem. All in good time. My blog post will be waiting for you. I’m not sure why collapsing European economies should be an obstacle to wasting your time reading my silly ravings, but that item is way way down on my list of other things that I’m not sure about. It’s a long list.

    It’s beginning to look to me like the entire planet Earth is really not too big to fail. At least we’re doing a nice job fancying up the proverbial handbasket in which we’re riding to hell.

  7. So the garden is now completely harvested, and the garlic is in its bed and properly covered and you said “Sweet dreams” to it. And now, won’t you have anything to do in the garden anymore?

    I don’t know anything about Thanksgiving, except that Ayn Rand R.I.P. said the size of the turkeys that you eat there was sublime. This is not an exact quote, however, and it was only her poetic way of expressing admiration.

    I have been told that you buy a real live turkey as big as a calf and it walks around the kitchen. And then you put it in the oven.

    Thanks for this nicely timed comment cantueso. The sublimely gigantic turkey I shared with family and friends this afternoon is still making me belch. It was not as big as a calf, but was raised on a local farm, where it “ranged free” before it went into our daughter’s oven. It was delicious. I’m making broth from its carcass right now.

    I think I’ve mentioned to you previously that I’ve never been able to get more than 10 or 20 pages into any of Ayn Rand’s scribblings, as they’re far beyond my dim witted sensibilities. I have to say, Macy’s balloons notwithstanding, that Thanksgiving is one of the few American holidays whose intent and meaning I hold dear. That said, our momentary gratitude provides a launch pad for materialistic orgasm of American Xmas.

    Indeed, the garden is about fully to rest for the long winter months ahead. I gathered what parsley I could, washed and packed it into these nifty little vacuum freezer bags. I could dig up some more of the helianthus tuberosus tubers, but I’ve already distributed several batches to friends this fall, and I’m the only one in my family that seems to like eating them, so I don’t know how many more I’ll be digging up before the snow comes to cover the garden beds over until next March.

  8. I looked up the origin of “artichoke”, because they are back on the market now, not the ones that you have in your garden. Ours is like the bud of a very large flower,like a Magnolia flower, but closed and olive green, and one eats what must be the petals of the flower and then its inside.

    So I thought it would be like its Spanish equivalnt “alcachofa” of Arab origin and went to look it up:

    “Appeared in the 1530s, from articiocco, Northern Italian variant of arcicioffo, from old Spanish alcarchofa, from Arabic al-hursufa. Folk etymology has twisted the word in English; the ending is probably influenced by choke.”

    I guess you would know that words beginning in al- are mostly Arab in origin: alabaster, alcohol, alchemy, algorithm, algebra, aluminium. There must be many more.

    Apparently, artichokes and helianthus tuberosus are both members of the plant family Asteraceae, same family as the daisy. This could account for some flavor similarities in the edible plant parts I suppose. Liking both of these vegetables, I can attest to some similarity in flavors. Of course, the tubers are much more substantial and filling than the artichoke flower parts, and more versatile. They were supposedly cultivated by native Americans. They are a very high-yielding plant, easy to grow. Considered an invasive weed by some.

    As far as the name, my favorite theory is that ‘Jerusalem’ derives from the Italian girasole, sunflower. The plant is native to the USA and early Italian settlers noticed its similarity to the sunflower. As to why ‘artichoke’ came to be part of the name, who knows for sure, but I’m going with the flavor similarity.

  9. That is a great site that you quoted for the handbasket as a vehicle to travel to hell.
    I always look for “entertaining” stuff so that every now and then I can hang out some real serious business without alienating USA readers.

    Good to know. Just found it looking up that phrase. Not sure what you mean by “hang out some real serious business without alienating USA readers”? Although you’ve confused and intimidated, you’ve never alienated me. So please keep trying! 🙂

  10. But you are not the typical USA reader that keeps my blog hopping. Look at YOUR blog. It isn’t very typical, is it?

    I read somewhere that Hamlet was the first work of literature that looked at the evils of this world without trying to be funny. Well, I think in English it is also the last one!

    Oh I don’t know, I think my blog is mostly the fairly typical self-involved drivel with occasional moments of inspiration. Thank god for the photos, huh? But I’ll interpret your comment as a compliment and thank you kindly.

    As an illiterate monoglot, I’ll be taking your word on Hamlet. That said, I try to keep things as light and positive here as reality allows.


Leave a Reply

Categories

