Posted by: David | September 27, 2010

Happy Autumn 2010


One of my favorite trees to watch in the fall. It’s a nice maple with lots of room to grow all around it. A lollipop tree. Remember it from a year ago? It’s changing color a little earlier this year.


B
ird and rodent hunting season is especially good in the autumn, you know?

The Fall 2010 semester is in full swing now, and I don’t want to say this too loudly, but it looks like the initial rush has died down. I’ve been very busy every day, running all over the campus, and my office, which I share with a co-worker is looking a little less disastrous. To be fair, our office space is also a storage room for computers coming and going. A sort of computer purgatory I guess you could say. From the computers point of view it’s a ghastly laboratory where computers are given the Frankenstein treatment, being reconstituted for further service out of pieces and parts from machines which have actually passed to the not-so-great beyond. Computers are pronounced dead when they are past warranty, and won’t stay running even after swapping out all components other than the motherboard.


Yeah, it’s not all that nice of an office, but it used to house the photo darkrooms, so that’s kinda cool.


A
common, never ending task . . . upgrading software

Near my office in the basement, are offices for Campus Safety and Purchasing. There’s a lot of stuff being recycled out of the Purchasing office, and a free magazine and book rack where summer overflow of magazines from the Mailroom land. Sometimes cool books are found there too. Like the one I found last week, consisting of photographs of the earth from the Gemini space missions of the 1960s.


Compared to more recent space photography the quality isn’t great, but looking at this book brings back some of the early thrill of the US space program. Any photo from space was cool.


T
he quantity of onions at right fill up a quart yogurt container after drying.


On the home front, I dried a second batch of onions.

The dried onions are a lot better than they look. I think that if I threw them in the blender I’d have onion powder. Drying takes about 36 hours. The painful part of the process is getting the skins off the onions and then slicing them uniformly. The first batch involved a lot of tears. For the second batch I set up the cutting board under the oven exhaust hood. That helped a lot. Gotta prep a couple of beds to plant the garlic in so they’ll be ready by whenever it is I decide to plant it. Early November usually. Soon we’ll be gathering all the pumpkins and squashes, and getting ready to put the gardens to bed for the winter.

Not much else to add here.  It was a quiet weekend in which I fought off a cold that was trying to get me. I think I won. Went for a short bike ride Saturday since it was so nice out. But hung about indoors Sunday and Monday, which I took off from work, to rest up. Hence this tedious post.

Responses

  1. I’d love to get into that book. I have a cherished coffee table, “Moon,” that came out right after our first moon landing. Full of color pics of the moon and of Earth from the moon. Those first photos of Earth from outer space were so incredible and so humbling. The world could use another moon landing or the equivalent.

    It was a surprising and special find on the free magazine rack. You would love it, and so would Museditions and Joanharvest, other space nuts. It was NASA Special Publication 171 (SP-171, remember when such abbreviations were cool?). It was issued in 1968 as a companion volume to 1967’s SP-129, which featured photos from Gemini III, IV, and V. It is a nicely printed and bound large format hardcover volume which was sold through the US Govt. Printing Office for $8.00. LOC Catalog number 68-61301. It’s organized as a trip around the planet, with each photograph labelled by mission and date, and described by captions of 200 word length. The photos, taken with a Hasselblad on Ektachrome are not much by todays high resolution digital stuff, but still quite compelling in the presentation volume.

    Yeah, we could use another event like that July 1969 one. It was special and uniting in a way that we haven’t seen since, except with tragic events.

  2. Are you turning those onions into . . . funyuns??!

    You know, they do taste a little like FUNYUNS® until you’ve eaten a few and your mouth starts to burn a little. I’d say that they were about 2000 times more better than FUNYUNS®. In every way. Not that I don’t like FUNYUNS® and all kinds of other disgusting snack foods . . . I have yet to try Razzleberry Pie. 🙂

  3. Your office looks really interesting. (Instead of “really”, they now say “honestly” out there: your office looks honestly interesting.) There are a lot of plugs everywhere and lots of things that would be hard to name.

    Isn’t this office hard to dust? Do you have to dust it yourself? Of course I understand that the onions are not at the office, but you didn’t say so.

    Thanks, my office mate and I think it IS REALLY interesting.

    We don’t do any dusting in there, except to ADD dust when we blow it out of computer boxes …

    I did write “On the home front …” in the caption under the onion photo, didn’t I? Otherwise my seque from work to home was a tad abrupt. Sorry about that.

  4. In the grass, beside the cat, ¿are those the famous crabapples? I have never seen any and had imagined them as small, but in the grass they look like a normal sized apple.

    I don’t think we have any crabapple trees on our property. They are normal sized apples, unfortunately they’re not too desirable since we don’t spray the fruit trees. The deer like them though.

  5. But I was wrong. It isn’t “honestly” that is now the last straw:

    but her hair is seriously great.
    your stylist takes you seriously
    I seriously consider stopping
    seriously gray hair in the middle of black hair is …
    ten ways to seriously improve your writing

    All of these in 10 minutes on “Freshly pressed”.

    Yeah, seriously! But of the examples you listed, in my opinion only the first exemplifies slang usage.

    But let’s not forget the interrogative form: SERIOUSLY?!? And then there is the currently popular “I know, right?”, sometimes crushed to “inorite” (without the ?), and which, along with the old standbys “really” and “honestly”, all more or less equivalent as expressions of stunned incredulity.

  6. Inside this post which you claim is tedious, I found an emotional jewel in the life, reincarnation, and eventual death of the computer.

    Wow.

    PS: I love the kitty kat header!! 😀

    Hi Romi, and thanks for reading with your nerd ears open. Another interesting aspect of the computer life expectancy is how arbitrary it can be. Some folks see no reason why their 10 year old computer running Windows ME should not keep going another 5 years, while others want a new laptop every couple of years. It’s software that drives the whole bizness along of course, and nothing smells worse than rotten software.

    Glad you like the kitty. Her full name is Hunter’s Niece, but we call her hunter. She loves her territory.

  7. The tree looks beautiful. Thanks for the pic of it. The onions look amazing. Is dehydrating them new for you this year, or have you been doing that for a while?

    Hey lakecrazy. That tree has been an autumn subject for a few years now.

    This is the first time drying onions. They’re really good as a snack, but also handy in cooking. I just made some hot salsa that was a little watery, so I blendered up some dried onions and tomatoes, and added them in to thicken it up. It worked.

  8. David, you haven’t lived until you’ve tried razzleberry pie.

    I’ve never seen Broccoli like this. I really had no idea how it grew. All this time, I thought the Chinese just had it somewhere close to their beef stash, and they delivered it to grocery stores, etc.

    So, I’m wrong then?

    Yeah, I’ll try Razzleberry pie soon. We love raspberries. Red and black.

    I’m glad to be able to provide you with some vegetable education. It’s one of the few actual purposes served by my blog.


Leave a Reply

Categories

