Posted by: David | August 11, 2010

Folding Onward

August proceeds apace, only to be followed by September, the Fall, and etcetera. I have a lot of photos to share. First of all, my order of origami paper arrived finally, last Saturday morning. Still a little irritated at having to pay 33% for shipping and handling. Maybe they should have “handled” it less, since the postage was only $5.


500 sheets assorted colors, 250 each blue and green, and 250 tie-dye, all 3″ size.  Also an “envelopener” for trimming squares to rectangles, and a creasing tool.

I also went to a local bookstore and a craft shop that day, both near the farmer’s market in Warner where I was able to find the carrots that I needed to make cole slaw for a family gathering in Vermont on Sunday. I bought a couple of origami books, and some really fancy 4-inch paper. And I got the last, scraggly bunch of organic carrots at the market. My carrot crop failed to germinate properly.


The papers are arranged in a fancy circular spread. I made a little box with the top sheet.

The little box didn’t really come out all that well. This origami stuff takes a fair amount of practice. I’m attempting another 12-module jitterbug with the new paper.

The garden is doing well. We’ve been eating lots of zucchini and summer squash, and jar #2 of sweet pickles was just stuck in the fridge last night. Really nice simple recipe, equal parts white vinegar and sugar and a little salt, bring to a boil. Slice cukes into large canning jar with some crushed garlic cloves and mustard seeds. Pour boiling mixture over cukes, cover, allow to cool off some, and refrigerate. They’re ready to eat in a couple of days and keep for a few weeks in the fridge.


The cukes shrivel and float up by the next morning.


W
e’re growing celery again. It’s smaller than store-bought but more strongly flavored.


Brussels sprouts are still very tiny, but they grow well into the fall, even after first frost.


B
roccoli.


T
he leek flowers are forming their triangular seed bundles.

The two beds of onions are bulbing up nicely, green stalks browning and flopping over. They’ve been getting watered regularly (like every day). It’s looking like it will be a very nice crop. I think they’re ready to be pulled up and allowed to lay in the sun, but my wife says I should leave them alone. She’ll take care of them when she’s good and ready to do so. She grew some amazing onions last year. We made onion rings a couple of times.


This sunflower, about to bloom, is like ten feet tall!


J
erusalem artichoke flower close up. They’ve been in bloom for about a week or two.


O
liver stands guard under an apple tree. The tree’s been dropping some pretty nice apples.

We were in Vermont last weekend, as mentioned above, and went to visit some friends at their lovely log cabin in the woods. They collect old bottles. I took a whole bunch of pictures of them.


Almost every window in their home has bottles on display.


T
hese are really large bottles. All antiques.


S
o many many bottles. The guy’s been digging them up for years and trading them.


They also have a lovely terraced garden with a teeny tiny frog pond. Hundreds of pieces of Vermont slate, shale, and quartz moved by hand.


T
hey knew they’d found the right place when they saw this immense quartz boulder in the woods behind their house.

Just reached the halfway point in folding the 12 modules for another origami jitterbug. Hopefully it will come out better than the first one. It will surely be better than the second attempt. Red, green, and blue this time. I’ll let you know how it turns out.

Responses

  1. Wow, I never seen how brussels sprouts grow. Neat! I love the pics of the glass bottles, I have a similar display in my bathroom.

    Thanks for your comment Young Wifey. Old glass sure is pretty. The wife of this couple makes beautiful stained glass objects. She gave us a dragonfly that hangs in one of our bedroom windows.

    Just so you know, the brussels sprouts in the picture are really tiny, just about peanut sized. They take the entire gardening season to grow to edible size. If they pan out I’ll probably photograph them again. I planted an awful lot of them.

  2. I hope Oliver likes being on duty. Did you ask him? Or at least try to explain?

    The sunflower: I have never seen one like that. Both in Switzerland and here they grow that tall, but with almost no leaves on the stem and only one great flower at the top. The flower is a large dark brown “basket” full of pits. That basket is maybe7 or 8 inches across, and around it there is a rim of yellow petals.

    We used to take that basket and hang it up to dry, and then in winter we would hang it out for the birds to come and eat the pits.

    Oh yes, Oliver likes it very much. He’s always “on duty”. He’s at DEFCON 1 pretty much permanently.

    Sunflower seeds (pits) are what we feed to the birds all year round in our bird feeders. We buy a few hundred pounds of them at a time and store them in trash cans in our garage. Sometimes the birds empty out both feeders in a couple of days.

    I’ve got a better photo of that very tall sunflower that will be posted soon …

  3. !!!
    And why didn’t you photograph the little box that didn’t come out that well?!
    But it would make a nice title for a post or a story:

    THE LITTLE BOX THAT DIDN’T COME OUT THAT WELL.

    Well let me remedy that situation …

  4. Somewhat later.
    I just thought how nice that title would look in Swiss
    German:

    ‘S chline Schachteli who ned so guet usecho isch

  5. Like Young Wifey, I didn’t know that’s how Brussels sprouts grow. (I’m such a hopeless city girl.) I love them, and they seem to be so unappreciated as vegetables go.

    Impressive bottle collection. But I’d be content with just a couple of the cobalt ones.

    I’m a sucker for your patterned origami papers. Each is a little work of art, even without folding. I’d be tempted to arrange some in a decorative way and frame them for wall display.

    It’s always a surprise to me when people haven’t seen how the vegetables look when they’re growing. It shouldn’t be. But that also reaffirms my hope that this blog actually has some occasional educational purpose. I love brussels sprouts too. They’re pretty good with spicy mustard on them too, believe it or not.

    My wife is also a big fan of the blue glass. The bottle collection was gathered over a long period of time, with many deep excavations involving lots of careful digging and scouting of “bottle dumps”, where our ancestors disposed of their non-reusable containers at the edges of their stone wall-surrounded farmlands.

    Yes, the patterned paper is nice. Everybody loves it.

  6. How can I ever remember what I want to comment when you include SO MANY cool photos!?!? Anyway, thx for the Brussels Sprout update and notice about ‘well into fall’ because my little guys are still not doing anything. I picked my first zuc yesterday – I planted late but of my 4 hills, I only had this one zuc and a new baby one. sad.
    anyway, LOVE the garden shots!

    Thanks C. I know I overdid it on the pix in this post. But I had no words. I’ve been so busy lately. August is well hectic at the little college, trying to finish up projects before students arrive. The students have started arriving! I have to work tomorrow (Sunday!) to help welcome a couple dozen students who will be going to France and Italy in a couple of weeks for their first semester. Interesting program.

    Yeah, the sprouts can be harvested even after they’ve frozen right up almost! They taste better after a frost. I love the way they look. Glad you like the garden shots.


Leave a Reply

Categories

