Posted by: David | December 31, 2009

Sorry About The F-Bombs

First of all there’s supposed to be a question mark in the title. It’s not like Who Wants To Be A Millionaire. In TV you can leave off the question marks. How cool is that. Second of all, an F-BOMB is about to drop …


used without permission …

I ripped off this animated GIF from someone else’s blog. The blog’s called DILLIGAF. It’s mildly amusing, like this here blog wishes it was. May cause minor irritation or rash. Discontinue use if this happens.


WHO IS this FRACKIN loser?

Stupid! I’m SICK of seeing his face on the interwebs. I’d rather see those dancing aliens, but they’re gone now. This guy looks like ME 20 years ago. Don’t know who he is, but he can’t seem to get a decent mortgage, and I HAVE one. So maybe I win?


Locate instances of the f-word.

Wanting to drop the F bomb in a comment on someone else’s blog. But first I had to figure out whether it would be appropriate. If the original post contained the F word, then


Even my web browser is ashamed of me … for good reason. Guess I’ll stick with Chrome.

Happy New Year. If I don’t see you before then, Internet. It’s going to be Twenty Ten. Not Two Thousand Ten. Twenty Ten. OK?

Responses

  1. HAHAHAH! Happy New Year. I love the picture of the bird on the header. Gorgeous. Thanks for the laughs in 09 and see you in the future! Oh wait, we are IN the future!!

    No dear, we’re in the present. As Bruce Willis said in Twelve Monkeys, “The future ain’t what it used to be”.

  2. Do you mean that in US English it is twenty ten? I would like to know since all through 2009 I had to fake it and said it was pronounced two ou nine, which I had not invented but learned somewhere and never saw it confirmed.

    Well we really don’t know yet, it depends on how people decide, as a group, to say it. My money is on twenty ten. The “aughts”, 2001-2009, didn’t really phonetically lend themselves to use of the prefix “twenty”. Because “twenty – two” for 2002 is to easily mixed up with 22, etc. One would have to put “oh” in there for the zero placeholder in the tens place. That would be “twenty-oh-two” through “twenty-oh-nine”. Which nobody used. “Two thousand two” through “two thousand nine” turned out to be the popular usage. But with 2010, the “twenty” becomes phonetically available and it’s not ambiguous. We should know fairly soon whether it wins out over “two thousand ten”.

  3. It is a good example of how the most common neologisms are nearly impossible to find in the dictionaries.

    In Spanish this sign @ is called “arroba”. I have never met a Spaniard who doubted that it would be the same in English. By now it is included at least in the dictionaries.

    It took me innumerable tries to find the English word for /, which I believe is slash.

    I would also “put my money” on twenty-ten, because Americans need at least one novel thing every day.
    This would also explain how the “for you to” construction is catching on. Here is the White House spokesman:

    ”The President would like for you to relax and to not anticipate any public announcements or news-making events.”

    I would like for this spokesman to get waterboarded 83 times.

    Yikes, that’s a pretty harsh punishment for casual colloquy. Now if he’d said “it’s not OK for you to …” then I’d say go ahead with the waterboarding. I hate that “it’s not OK” phrase. Anyway, these neologisms come and go like the grass.

    Glad you got the / slash straight. Don’t mix it up with the \ backslash. 🙂

  4. ROFL. Funny post. Definitely gonna have to borrow that GIF for myself, just in case.

    Oh, and my money’s definitely on Twenty Ten for the year. But damned if I know what we “ought” to call the last decade. (Sorry, couldn’t resist.)

    I loved that GIF too. It actually generated the whole worthless post. I imagine that it was stolen from elsewhere before I stole it, er, borrowed it.

    Yeah, twenty-ten seems to be getting good use already. I heard on NPR that the Brits are referring to the last decade as the “naughties”. That’s just about right isn’t it?

  5. I think the “for you to” is simply hillbilly grammar. That construction is standard only with verbs that take “for”:
    I am waiting for Peter to come.
    I am looking for Peter to help here.
    This is for Peter to see.

    But there is a certain US rule of politeness obliging people to hide their wealth and their university education. Hence, you know something that the other guy does not seem to know, you must NEVER let him know.

    The whole sentence with its latin wordies + split infinitive plus bad subjunctive probably stinks to the High Heavens. Otherwise it would not affect the atmosphere all across the ocean.

    Another thing the dummies (like me) hate is being corrected on improper use of the subjunctive tense. Luckily us dummies outnumber the smarties so nobody ever notices the types of grammar flubs that drive you crazy, my polyglot friend. I wonder if there is a “Grammar For Dummies” in that famous book series.


Leave a Reply

Categories

