Posted by: David | November 13, 2009

Please Wait …

… while I come up with a catchy title for this post. I can feel it on the tip of my right prefrontal lobe. I mean my other right prefrontal lobe. This may take a few minutes.

ajax-loader2

Nothing seems to be happening. Maybe we’re stuck with another lousy title.  That makes it two posts in a row. Oh well. At least two is a small row.

In the meantime there are some recent snapshots to share. Of course. Vacation came to an end, as it always must, dammit, but getting back to work is not a problem– I love my job 98.7%.  So I still bask in the glow of those last few days of time off as I roll back into my habituated groove. At least there was some productivity and the weather was beautiful.

IMG_4409
I made some bread. Hard red winter wheat.

IMG_4410
Add water, yeast, honey, olive oil, salt, mix with dough hook.

IMG_4412
Let rise, knead, repeat, put into loaf pan, bake at 350°F about 35 minutes.

What? No photo of the finished bread? No. Sorry. It came out really well. Freshly ground flour makes some pretty amazing bread lemme just say …

IMG_4411
Another project. Picked up some dropped pears. The deer have fallen way behind cleaning up the orchard.

IMG_4415
Cooked the pears way down for a few hours. Nice spread except for the little gritty things pears sometimes have.

IMG_4432
Harvested the rest of the jerusalem artichokes in bed #17. Also called sunchokes.

Been bringing bags of the jerusalem artichokes to work and preaching to the masses of their wondrous-ness-ocity. It’s almost embarrassing how I prattle on about these humble tubers.  Fortunately I’m an oblivious fool. Though they can be prepared in any of the infinite number of ways that potatoes can be, I like this simple approach.

Scrub sunchokes well, slice lengthwise, place cut side down on salted cooking sprayed (lecithin spray like Pam) cookie sheet, a little more salt on skin sides, then roast at 350°F for about a half hour, until soft and hopefully a little brown. If not flip them over and broil a bit. Mmmm.

Infinity plus one: sunchokes are eaten raw by some folks. Potatoes? Not so much. Anyone else out there ever enjoy eating raw potatoes?

IMG_4413
The texture of the skin would probably be off-putting to “refined” palates. Plus they give you gas like mad.

I’m hoping that the gassy side effects will go away if I eat more of them– build an immunity? Or maybe the gas can be harnessed for extra propulsion on bike rides. Whatever. If I step out of the room suddenly, it is just politeness. Prattling ends …

Other accomplishments of the stay-cation were lots of 2 & 3 hour bike rides, removing a giant spider from one of the garage doors, completion of some interior finish tasks involving wallboard, joint compound, and paint. On one of the bike rides I checked on the state of the Route 114 cairn. It’s doing fine. Nobody’s knocked it down for well over a year.

IMG_4424
Side view.

IMG_4426
View from the road. Looks to be in good shape. Sort of a person shape.

IMG_4429
Birds nest in a tree by the road over in Hillsborough.

IMG_4431
Geese waiting for their flight south.

IMG_4422
One very cold spider. Lived in the garage door all summer. It moved a little. Really slowly.

IMG_4418
Kitty goes behind the barn. She likes to hang out there.

While recharging in vacation solitary mode, my brain came up with all kinds of profound crap to write into posts. All forgotten now. Except this. On a bike ride, I thought I’d coined a new word: instanternity. It should make some sense, as we all experience those moments where time rests and burns a little point into memory space. But it’s not really a word. Google it. Dare ya.

ajax-loader

Operation Complete.

Responses

  1. And why did you not photograph the finished bread? I did not know you could put in olive oil with yeast.

    Do you grind your own wheat? And why is the spider smiling? Also, you have never told us there was a river near where you live. The new word is hard to learn. Do you normally leave the pears to the deer? And the flowers? I can’t remember you have ever photographed the pear tree flowers. Are they not as pretty as cherry flowers?

    Not photographing the finished bread was a mistake. I apologize. I could photograph it now, as it sits in the refrigerator, more than half gone. But I probably won’t. The magic moment has passed.

    Yes, the first photo shows the Kitchen Aid mixer with the grain mill attachment. And yes, we always add oil to our breads. The yeast could care less. The only ingredient that retards yeast action is salt, and there is not enough to cause trouble.

    Yes, often the pears and many apples are left on the ground for the deer. We don’t spray our trees or do much of any other maintenance, so the fruit is unappealing in comparison to what’s found at the market. Stupid and wasteful. I know. The pear flowers have never grabbed my eye, so maybe I’ll pay better attention to them next spring. The tree is very tall and unkempt. It needs a good pruning. Another thing we don’t really bother doing.

    I think I’ve mentioned my river ride before. There are many rivers around here. And lots of lakes and ponds too.

  2. I figure you didn’t photograph the bread because you were too busy eating it, as I would be with a fresh loaf hot out of the oven. Mmmmm.

    I’ve never tasted jerusalem artichokes, but they sound good cooked that way. I suggest getting some Bean-O and chowing down on all the chokes you want.

    From the back, the cairn reminded me first of a hunched over dwarf or monk with his pointed hood pulled up. Then I noticed the “tail” and it morphed into a squirrel.

    Looks like gorgeous country for cycling. And without the long steep grades people deal with here.

    We’re still eating that loaf, it was a big one, and we don’t eat bread every day. It keeps well in the fridge.

    Never tried the Bean-O, though I’ve heard of it. Being a man I love to fart. So I got that goin’ for me …

    It really is beautiful here, but the real mountains around you are a whole other kind of beauty. Majestic like. When I lived in Portland OR as a kid, seeing Mt Hood and Rainier in the distance always impressed me.

  3. “in the very edges of insanity!”
    love this post. as I do most of your posts. great photos and fun silly yet profound thoughts.

    Thanks C. Where’d that quote come from? Did you Google instanternity?

  4. I thought maybe there would be an app that would generate best titles for posts but alas, I didn’t care enough to chase very offering of my search.

    but here’s one. sort of.
    http://www.seomoz.org/blog/headsmacking-tip-3-run-your-blog-post-titles-through-keyword-research-before-you-hit-publish

    Well that was an interesting link, thanks! I was previously minimally aware that so many people put so much thought into making things attract search engines. Oy vey this cyberspace. I thought it was just a fad. 🙂

  5. The idea isn’t to *attract* the spiders, but to be visible to them. However, I think the titles don’t matter as much as key nouns in the text. And a lot of hits come from pictures. I didn’t know that the spiders also go for the pictures.
    …………………………………………….

    On Wednesday I got my swine flu shot, and so the day before I googled a little to see what was being said about its safety. Awful. The general impression was that as soon as you get the shot, you die.
    …………………………………

    The idea of making your readers wait for the title is very funny. Of course I sat still and waited. I think this is called a Pavlov’s effect. But today I came here for the second or third time, and again I waited. This must be the German background: indiscriminate obedience to any command properly formulated.

    Hello cantueso and thanks for the comment. I wonder how the spider robots deal with images.

    I hope you’re not feeling any adverse effects from your immunization. There has not been much press on reactions to the shots. I’ve never been a fan of flu shots, in case you were wondering. Lucky for me I am in good enough health to feel that I would do OK if I did catch the virus.

    That’s funny that you waited for the title to change. I had not thought of that possible effect. Do you think that the animated progress bar helped with the suggestion of waiting?

  6. You asked if IdeaJump had googled instanternity. But, yes of course.
    Thx for the nice comments even if on the ‘other’ blog. Happy Gratefulness Week!

    Thanks IJ, C, or Care, I get easily mixed up. Is IdeaJump your bastard blog now? Happy Gratefulness Week to you too. We have lots to be grateful for. So what did you think of that guy’s poetry?

  7. The spiders can’t see the images, but they go by the title of the photo. A single picture may take precedence over a complete post, even if the post is older.

    For example, I get a lot of hits on a post of mine on Alexander the Great. It was hard for me to write because I know nothing about that Alexander and don’t like people who invade other people’s countries with armies, bribes, or drones.

    Well, little by little I saw that it only gets hits because it includes a photo or two of a city called Persepolis. Why people want to see pictures of Persepolis, God only knows.

    I included it, because the legend says that Alexander burned that city down to please his girlfriend.

    Yeah, I don’t like those kind of people either. Fortunately, I’ve never know one of them personally. Unfortunately, I may have voted for one. I hate the ones that do nasty shit to show off to their girlfriends even more. How despicable. At least part of the blame can be laid at the feet of the bitches who demand to be impressed. 🙂

    I love that historical and cultural flavor of your blog. It’s not surprising that people are drawn to. It makes me feel dumb when I read it. And that is a good thing.

  8. I have been wondering whether “the wife” taught you how to cook. I am all for malism, which is very similar to feminism, though less advanced, because the marketing interest is smaller.

    It is the core projects of malism to advance male independence via*** cooking lessons. So I started to teach my male some years ago and have tried to teach him many things, but realized finally that he progresses only autodidactically. This is why I wondered how your wife did it.

    His independence began via*** startingly beautiful omelettes that were outside like a panther’s skin but with spinach, apples or nothing at all inside or cheese plus mushrooms and hamburger each sooo pretty.

    Now just today I was going to teach him dumplings, but he escaped and went to see some painting exhibition in Madrid.

    — By the way, see the mileage I am getting out of this “via” preposition which I only discovered recently, mainly for my “issue” with Spanish and my other issue with my mothertongue. Very practical indeed.

    I’m going to have to ponder on this comment for a while. My wife and I taught each other what we didn’t know about cooking. We each have certain “specialty” dishes. For example, she is a better baker, while I am better at soups. It’s been a consistent observation that folks who cannot cook don’t have a complete appreciation of food in general.

    As to malism, being an iconoclastic nihilistic theist I’m against all isms.

    I hope your man gets to learn the dumplings. Omelette talent is something special.

    I like your usage of “via”. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

