Posted by: David | October 28, 2009

Waiting For Winter

Not something to look forward to really, but try and stop it. Winter that is. The list of things that must be done before snow flies has always been a downer. But in the last couple of years I’ve managed to check most of the boxes on the list. Not that I have an actual list. It’s mental really. Get the gardens cleaned up and fall crops planted, bring in all the winter squash, get snow tires mounted on cars, clean the chimney, cover next year’s woodpile, put away lawn mowers, take out snow blower, etc. Totally mental. List I mean …

IMG_4291
We had a new front door installed a few weeks back. Oliver inspects the work.

IMG_4353
Hunter doesn’t seem terribly impressed. Big deal, another door I will always be on the wrong side of.

IMG_4280
Our old front door was hideous, heavy, and weather-worn. Note funky mechanical doorbell.

My wife invested a great deal of time and effort on this project. And money. Turns out doors are not cheap. But she “saved” big bucks by doing the staining herself, which took a couple of weeks. It came out looking like beautiful mahogany.

IMG_4299
Stained glass insert featuring 3 pretty flowers … need a nice photo from the inside …

IMG_4380

The new door has a funky mechanical doorbell too, which was installed after the photo was taken. And the light fixture was upgraded too. Now this all makes the whole front porch look like the big old piece of crap that it is. A project for the not-too-distant future. I imagine that my wife is already dreaming up the details. She knows better than to tell me about those plans since I’ll just say how stupid I think they are. Can’t help it, it’s my first reaction to almost everything. Jeez that’s stupid. Isn’t it?

IMG_4378

IMG_4377
Ah, the smell of creosote in the morning. Yuk.

So I climbed up on the roof with the stepladder, chimney brush and ropes. Sweeping the chimney went OK until one of the ropes came untied. Fortunately I was able to pull the brush back up and retie the knot. It was a pretty day so after I got done with that mess I brought the camera up and got a nice shot of the whole backyard panorama.

IMG_4373
I love this view looking to the west.

Back to a couple of weeks ago. Got all the winter squash and pumpkins harvested from behind the barn and pulled all the vines, cornstalks, and tomato plants. There was quite a nice pile of squash, but the pumpkins didn’t do well at all. Only 2 actually ripened on the vine, and of those the bigger one

IMG_4320
Had to get all these squashes into the root cellar.

IMG_4329
Loaded them into the Camry’s large trunk then drove them over to the house.

Back to the present. We took a ride through the remains of Hurricane Rick to the Mystic, CT area last Saturday. Visiting relatives. We saw this weird “house”. It was pretty interesting looking. Not sure what it was.

IMG_4369

Happy Halloween everybody.

Responses

  1. I always enjoy your pictures, but I have a question about your cat Hunter. Is he/she part Maine Coon? She/he has paws like my Beatrice, and people think Bea might be one. Just curious, as when we adopted her they just said she was a Tortie.

    Thanks Girl! I wish I could tell you Hunter’s lineage, but she’s a “mutt” as far as we know. Guess it’s possible that she could have some Maine Coon in her genes, who knows? She does have similar coloring to your Beatrice, but less tortie or brindle coloring, and more on the gray tabby-ish shades. She’s named for her deadly skills. We think that the dog torments her out of sheer envy for her freedom to be outside stalking rodents and birds. He’s always tethered.

  2. Great pictures! And your wife did a beautiful job on that door. I love the stained glass insert. I hope you recycled the old one. Some artists use that old, distressed wood to make very cool things. I think it’s also pretty in it’s own way.

    That’s very conscientious of you birdpress. Sorry to disappoint but that door and the other detritus from the project are outside on the brushpile waiting to be burned. We don’t think anyone would really want that crappy old door. Although, if I put it up by the road with a “FREE” sign on it, someone might grab it. But I doubt that I will do that now that it’s on the burn pile.

  3. Love the new door and particularly the stained glass, being very partial to “prairie style” myself. Am curious though, why, particularly in your climate, you don’t protect your beautiful wood door with a storm door?

    Oh, and if winter isn’t arriving fast enough for you, come on out to Denver right now!

    Thanks PiedType, I added another couple of photos to show the stained glass. Good idea on the storm door, although the beautiful wood door is actually fiberglass. Perhaps a storm door is my wife’s next planned purchase … I’m not in a big hurry for winter, and I’m sorry if it’s come too soon for you in Denver.

  4. That door is spectacular. She outdid herself on that one. Winter is coming way too fast. Grrr and Brrr. Although to PiedType I know Cool-o-rado is buried under snow. I am not looking forward to that.

    Yes, she’s really been outdoing herself a lot lately. I’m with you on the winterhating. Check PiedType’s adorable verse on the snow storm they had.

  5. I went to Wikipedia to see what squash was and look what I found:
    “……maize (corn), beans, and squash. These were usually planted together. The cornstalk provided support for the climbing beans and shade for the squash. The squash vines provided ground cover to limit weeds. The beans provided nitrogen fixing for all three crops.”

    And as I kept reading, I saw that a pumpkin can reach more than 1000 pounds in weight. On the photo they looked absurd. It would be tricky to explain their existence on the basis of either Darwin or Intelligent Design.

    And the word “squash” comes from askutasquash. It sounds like “as good as squash” but looks like a far fetched password.

    Thanks for that educational commentary cantueso. That method of planting is popular, but squash vines, bean vines and cornstalks can become quite the jungle. We grew a giant pumpkin once. Someone gave us special seeds. It looked absurd, as you wrote. Obesity is not attractive in squash either. They would never have “evolved” on their own, but are the result of lots of selective breeding, hence, artificial, hence, UNintelligent design! 🙂

    Yes, and you must be telepathic, for I have been known to use such words as passwords, throwing in numerals or special characters.

  6. How They Did It back in 1881: http://tr.im/cleanchimney

    Technology has made some definite improvements, but creosote still stinks.


Leave a Reply

Categories

