Posted by: David | September 1, 2009

Steven Tyler Sighting

We who are fortunate enough to live in this beautiful state of New Hampshire’s Lake Sunapee region are occasionally lucky enough to have a summertime brush with fame in the form of rock and roll legend Steven Tyler. Anyone who’s lived in this area for a while will have their own or a friend’s story of seeing this summertime local at some store, festival, or state fair. I’ve seen him several times in my own town on his Harley, both solo and with a lady companion in leather. This year’s sighting was the closest yet, and reaffirms my belief that he must be a pretty cool dude.

I was in the George’s Mills Irving gas station/convenience  store at about the halfway point of a lovely Sunday bike ride. I was a little hungry. Paying for a small container of macaroni salad I was chatting with the cashier, a young lady whom I’d known since she was in middle school. In my bike helmet and sunglasses she hadn’t recognize me, but as I took off the sunglasses and greeted her by name she brightened with familiarity. As we were catching up another customer comes in the door, looking oddly familiar. Well yeah, it’s Steven Tyler and he’s looking for some “old-fashioned licorice”.  I take my macaroni salad out onto the porch and sit in one of the chairs to eat it with the tiny plastic fork. It was pretty good. Hope he found his old fashioned licorice.

While I’m eating Steven comes out and I’m trying to figure out which vehicle he’ll be getting into. It happens to be the vehicle right in front of me, which I had not even noticed to be the Sunapee Police Dept.’s SUV. And Steve, I now notice, is wearing some kind of intensive sling holding his injured arm in place. A kid recognizes him and approaches as Steven gets into the cop car. He goes back to his car for a piece of paper for Steven to autograph. And a lady pumping gas brings her two young kids over and asks to get a picture her kids and Steve. Steve does the autograph and the picture and is so very cool. I wanted to give him a big thumbs up for being such a nice famous guy, but we made only fleeting eye contact. The  SUV backs out and drives off. I finished my macaroni salad and called my wife to tell her about it.

Responses

  1. Wow. Just … wow

    Unexpected PiedType reaction. Are you an Aerosmith fan?

    • I’m a big rock fan. My generation birthed the genre, after all. Queen was my personal favorite but Aerosmith is definitely one of the greats.

      True dat!

  2. His behavior’s improving. He took a CSC student’s head off in the produce area at Can’t-Affords last winter. On the other hand, I can’t say I’d be able to deal nicely myself with an 18 year old bellowing “AEROSMITH ROCKS!” at me while I’m picking out tomatillos… I am sorry about his arm, tho. Us old folk, we gots to solidaritize with each other.

    I’ve heard that we sort of mellow out as we grow older. Wonder if it’s true. The screams of young adults can be very unsettling. Anyway, I also vote for the solidaritizationalism!

  3. When I met ST last summer, he was so gracious, and yes, I was surprised. Not sure what I expected, but I was so impressed with his genuine interest in my need to meet him. He is extremely warm, funny, and kind and makes you feel like you’re the rock star, which is brilliant. It’s a moment I’ll have on photo forever.

    Thank you for your comment Michelle. Most of the ST sighting stories I hear around these parts are positive and/or humorous. Which is brilliant, indeed. 🙂

  4. Jeez. How strange.

    Maybe it is.

  5. Reminds me. I once worked for some big pharm company in Basle. When I was new there, one afternoon, as I came into the very large reception hall upstairs, I saw everybody, some 40 or 50 people, most of them university graduates, some of them physicians, all lined up on the glass front of the hall looking out.

    What were they doing?

    Waiting to see the arrival of the CEO.

    Except that they probably wouldn’t ask the CEO for autographs and photo opportunities.

  6. Is that the difference?
    I greatly admire some types of work, but not the authors. I don’t believe people are so free in what they do or what they produce. All achievement and more especially art seems to me to be like an empty Schnäggehüsli, pretty to see once the Schnägg has left.

    A Schnägg is a snail.
    What do you call that spiral house of a snail?

    I would not say “the” difference, rather “one” difference. I agree that we are not so free in what we do or produce. Your snail shell image is quite compelling. A shell is what we call that spiral calciferous artifact of the snail’s life’s activities. People who acquire fame and fortune seem to tend to develop a gravitational field. We who admire them for whatever reasons may either begrudge this attractive power or be drawn into it. It’s a trap in any case.

    While the Schnägg lives its shell grows outward, round the prior curve. Shell is also used to refer to a hard protective layer that defends a softer, vulnerable, inner entity.


Leave a Reply

Categories

