Posted by: David | May 5, 2009

May I

May 2009 is unfolding nicely. For me anyway. And the garden. This evening it is finally raining. Things were getting kind of dry. I’ve had to do a little more watering than I like to. Tender young plants need a little help when first put out in the garden. The onions especially. It took many hours to plant each tiny onion plant one by one. You can barely even see them unless you zoom right in. My wife planted them with soaked newspaper covered with spoiled 2nd cut hay (also soaked) in between the rows. It’s a mulching system.

img_3452
They look like blades of grass, these onions.

img_3448
The garlic is still doing very well. I decided to try planting another bed.

Planting garlic in the spring is not advised. But there was a bunch of garlic we didn’t eat that almost made it through winter storage. Kind of dried out and some of it was sprouting. I couldn’t just throw it into the compost … So I planted a whole bed of it. What’s the worst that could happen? Don’t answer that please, I see it on TV every day. We’ll see what happens with it.

At work this week final preparations for Saturday’s commencement ceremony are in full swing. The tent is up and ready. The last final exams ended today, and the parking lots were jammed with parents’ vehicles being loaded with dorm room contents. Only the seniors remain on campus now. Late on this damp afternoon, the campus started to take on that sad quietness of the vacuum left behind by the vanished students. Not to worry, they’ll be back in ever greater numbers in September …

There’s a new entry in the blogroll which fellow blogger cantueso linked me to. Maira Kalman is an illustrator, author, designer and blogger. You’d see her work in the New Yorker and NY Times. Please try this month’s entry, called May It Please the Court. It’s kinda wonderful. Her blog is called And the Pursuit of Happiness. It’s about American democracy, and appears on the last Friday of each month. Thank-you cantueso!

img_3450

Responses

  1. I remember your garlic crop from last year. I’m still waiting for someone to plant a garden here for me. I’d be happy with tomatoes and basil.

    I enjoy the updates of your garden.

    Thanks Joan. I hope that happens for you soon. Tomatoes and basil would be great!

  2. I don’t know how you do it; the onion process seems so complex and detailed. I think it requires a certain talent and serenity to garden with all this detail and care, I will leave it to the pros like you ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Thanks Romi, we’ve been at it for a while. It’s not really that complex, and you’re right about the serenity.

    I am way behind on your blog, the India journey of your youth, but I will be reading it all. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. That closeup of the garlic is wonderful; it’s so furiously, determinedly green! Reminiscent of a beloved patch of forest I visited a year after it was swept by fire.

    Yes, maybe that’s why I can’t stop photographing it. It pleases the soul to look upon such greenness.

    But …

    To be honest, the greenness is “punched up” by my editing process. I set the saturation to 42 then click the Auto Correct button. It really makes the colors “pop”.

  4. I used to change my f-stop to get that kind of saturation. Didn’t consider it a misrepresentation, since it was the only way to make those colors approach Mother Nature’s own. (I’d try your trick, but the new dog ate my camera last week.)

    Well this is a digital trick that is done after the camera’s job is over. It’s like “photoshopping” but with Microsoft Office Picture Manager. So it’s a less innocent adjustment than changing exposure settings like f-stop. Honesty in blog posting … Sorry about the puppy and your camera. Get any good shots of his innards? ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. The “top posts” have vanished, not just from my two blogs. It’s everywhere and I am terribly upset. Just when finally I have figured out how to explain the thing in a way that everybody understands!

    In an analogy where a post is a tulip, you and most bloggers believe that WordPress is the earth where you plant the tulip. Right?

    Well, now: A post is a tulip and WordPress is the instrument that you need to plant the tulip in Google or other search data bases.

    See?

    Sorry but that analogy doesn’t work so well for me. Maybe because of my frequent experience with real soil and plants and such. I don’t use the top posts widget.

  6. Funny! No, she really just chewed up the case and in the process inflicted a few lethal chomps on the camera within.

    ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  7. Do you know that things can grow even in the icebox? Leeks and cabbage. If you cut one in half and leave half of it in the icebox (and forget about it), after some days the heart of the cabbage, where the leaves are tiny and tightly packed, starts to grow and unfold, and the leek, which looks like a cut pipe with many pipes concentrically (?) inside — this is getting complicated. Well, the inside pipes become longer and longer.

    That could be a patent text, mind you. Patent texts are like this. Anyway, now we have just seen one of those very rare cases where a picture would have saved 1000 words.

    I don’t think this phenomenon is necessarily growth, but the effect of the leaves of cabbage (and leek) drying out. You can add that to the patent text.

    • No. A large (head of?) cabbage, but only the inner, yellow part, cut in two. I think it would not grow if there were just a small piece. And a long piece of leek.

      The leeks I have been getting here are very thick, about an inch in diameter the white part.

      In the cabbage the innermost leaves grew up vertically, at an angle of 90ยบ to the other leaves, would the patent text say. — They did not dry. They had not been kept long enough.

      Okay. A cabbage grew in your fridge, I’m happy for you. And I’m glad you like cabbage too, for in my country it is an under-appreciated vegetable. Maybe you’re mad because I have not yet delivered the promised cabbage photos. Soon cantueso, soon!

  8. The “top posts” vanished because WordPress has finally implemented that new stats system where everybody sees his stats in his own time zone. It took them more than two weeks to figure out, and then they brought it off retroactively.

    I think this also affects people in the US, since there must be various time zones there.

    Yes, now that you mention it, the new stats system looks much better. I hadn’t noticed it till now.

  9. I’m jealous of your garlic. And I love Maira Kalman! I found her when she wrote “Ooh-la-la, Max In Love” and read it to Max every night. She’s fantastic.

    Green with envy? Probably read him Where the Wild Things Are too I bet. Yes she’s awesome. Awesome AND fantastic!

  10. we had to get garlic in this spring too…hoping for the best! happy planting!@

    Thanks maleesha you too! We had a pretty good frost this morning, but we don’t have anything outside yet that would be hurt. The garlic, onions, peas, cauliflower and cabbage can take a touch of frost. I’ll continue to document the progress of the fall- vs. spring-planted garlic.

  11. When I lived by a university, I had mixed feelings about the end of the school year:
    -Happy- less concern about hitting pedestrians.
    -Sad- less opportunities to witness flag football games.

    That sums up my own feelings nicely. ๐Ÿ™‚


Leave a Reply

Categories

