Posted by: David | January 15, 2009

Something Pretty to Look At

Don’t have a heck of a lot in mind right now, which is what this blog is all about I guess … It’s real ugly cold here, we’ll dip below zero tonight for sure. Which is probably warm to our Canadian friends but hey, zero is something, right? Uh … wrong.

Anyhoo, this is just a link post. Essentially, some more stumbing that I meant to share a while ago. It’s some paper sculpture by a young artist from South Florida named Jen Stark. Paper sculpture and other colorful stuff. It may cheer you up if you’re freezing, even if just for a little while. Her work seems to be scattering over the web nicely. Here’s a link to her own web site, starting you at the sculptures page.

87-1
This one’s called “Piece of an Infinite Whole”

Anyway I’m sure you have better stuff to do, but Jen Stark’s artwork just kinda cheered me up and it seemed like a good idea to pass that along. So please check it out. 🙂

Responses

  1. Ah, I do feel a bit more cheery! Thanks, “C”

    You’re welcome C. Jen’s artwork is just the cheer-up needed after a hard day of subbing, huh?

  2. ooooh…look at all the purrreetty colours 🙂 ….like really, that sure woke me up just now! 🙂

    Prettier than pigeon crap on the 13th floor window?

  3. That is pretty trippy. I feel like I might fall into a hypnotic state if I stare too long. Much like when you find yourself dazed and drooling while staring at a random womans breasts in the park yesterday morning…uhhh…or where and whenever. What? Where am I?

    Hi jcow81 and thanks for your funny comment. Here’s a hanky for that drool. Must be Romi’s Steffi doll on your mind, hmm? On Jen Stark’s website there’s a video interview with her. She’s rather cute and worth a listen.

  4. That’s pretty cool. The end of the tunnel looks warm to me. So, if you don’t see me until after this cold snap, look there.

    You’re right it does look warm. Funny the artist’s name is Stark, isn’t it?

  5. WOW.

    This is amazing!! Thank you for sharing!

    Glad you like it Lucky. I’ll tell Jen if she ever returns all the calls and emails I’ve yet to send her.

  6. OOoooOOhh ! Me likes!
    I’ll be visiting the site soon .. thanks !
    Have a wonderful weekend, David.

    It’s worth a few minutes of your time. Your daughter will probably like the artwork too. 🙂

  7. SO much prettier than the pigeon crap on my window, which is now still as deeply encrusted on the window as ever before….sigh….

    Since you can only count on the weather to erode the pigeon crap away, it will be some time … guess you’ll just have to make the most of it, if you haven’t already done so.

  8. kewl

    yup

  9. It’s the rabbit hole!!!

    Yeah, I think you’re right maleesha!

  10. Ooo, what a unique and beautiful art form!! Thank you for sharing this link.

    (wow, just imagine how much paper Ms. Stark has to buy … )

    After listening once to the interview video on the home page of her website, it sounds like she may have evolved this style of hers in part because of the high availability and reasonable cost of colored construction paper.

    Rainbow colors are very evocative for many of us, though I can hear some of my more educated art friends gagging and retching at the prettiness.

  11. Well, no, I don’t like it. Up to my neck in technicalities, and would not want them to somehow get bootlegged (?) into whatever little minuscule microspace is still free of/from them. Jeez. I’m in my ninth hour of trying out my new computer. That is the time it has taken me to make everything work.

    Now there is a virus protection that CANNOT be uninstalled and has to go. I used to translate technical manuals and so I know that the instructions given “therein” do not necessarily make sense, since it is impossible to prove that a certain sequence of words does not mean anything. I used to create sequences of that kind.

    Anyway, the spiral is pretty, but so are computer generated screensavers.

    Change is hard I know. I’m assuming your “Well, no, I don’t like it.” refers to your new computer and not the Jen Stark artwork (which is not a spiral, but concentric circles).

    In an attempt to be helpful, I’ll guess that you cannot uninstall the unwanted antivirus component because it is trialware (a short term subscription to tease you into purchase after expiration or trial period) that has not actually been installed yet. Much trialware comes this way, pestering you when you turn on the computer until you follow the dialog boxes and install it. So, ironically, you may have to install it before you can uninstall it. Then just download the AVG Free antivirus, or buy anything but Norton or Symantec Internet Security. I like NOD32 Antivirus System which costs about $40/yr. They have a more expensive product which adds firewall and spam protection, but I don’t use it. The AVG Free is surprisingly good for a free product.

    Are you struggling with Windows Vista as well? There is an easy way to make it look and feel like the Windows XP you’re probably accustomed to.

    Good luck cantueso.

  12. HOWEVER, as I do not have a TV and yesterday the computer was not yet in shape, I came late to The News of the World and the little airplane in the river (what was the names of the river. it was not Houston. So what was it). I downloaded the photo and got hold of the pilot’s conversation with the tower.

    The best thing in years from the USA! In how many years! Now let’s see whether Obama can hold up.

    “Miracle on the Hudson” is what the papers are calling it. Though nothing of the scale of the 9/11 event 7 years ago, this is just the kind of positive event that New York and the rest of the USA can use as the Bush Era draws to a close.

    With all the happy thoughts and wishes I can send to Washington DC, I really don’t see how ANYONE can hope to bail us out of the horrendous corner we’ve painted ourselves into. And by “us” I mean the entire “civilized” world, not just the USA.

  13. Blame it on Rainbow-Brite, but I’m a sucker for colorful artwork. Cold weather…not so much.

    Not surprised Allison. I think my daughter had a Rainbow-Brite set when she was little. You know how they tell us that animals don’t see color? Well I don’t believe it.

  14. photographing the pigeon-crap and forcing other people to look at it was my way of “making the most of it”, and to that end, I sure did 🙂

    Oh yes you SO did! My BFF and I have a saying that poop is the ultimate medium. Gross, huh? Sorry I failed to fully analyze the poop-stain and its physics. Let’s just say that there are too many variables and leave it at that. 🙂

  15. Well, now what is this. I mean is your politeness obliging you to give a more conciliatory meaning to my wordies? I meant the artwork, when I said I did not like it. Of course. It is technological, it is inspired by computer generated graphs, it is absolutely impersonal, that is absolutely non-commi …… (sorry. I must interrupt to re-install my little WordWeb dictionary to find out whether the word I am looking for happens to exist) ……noncommittal and meant, like much of the later abstract stuff, for banks and dentists to fill the walls of their customer service premises. It is also clueless, but in that regard innocent. It is a complicated world.

    There is an abyss between art and decorational stuff, and the twain shall never meet.

    You are correct again. DAMN my politeness! I thought you were complaining about your new computer since the rest of that paragraph and the second paragaph went that way.

    But it makes perfect sense that you would not designate the colorful paper sculpture as “Art” (note the capital A). I would grant that Stark’s work is more craft than Art, but it still makes me happy to look at it. I find something elementally pleasing in the bright colors and repeating patterns. Much like looking at pretty blossoms, which are also colorfully patterned. Not “Art” in your classical sense, but we’ve had a similar debate already, regarding photography.

    But, how are you making out with the new computer? Did you get the antivirus problem solved? Hope so.

  16. I used this computer issue as an example of how technology is getting a bit too exacting. Of course you would not know since you are yourself a technocrat.

    I’ll now make a security copy of my things and then the new computer will have to go back to the dear little shop where I got it. The anti-virus thing is called Avast. In their manual they state that it can’t be removed except by etc etc which however goes nowhere because their “menu” or content table is a mess, maybe a machine translation.
    …………………………………………………….

    The idea was that this art that looks technological is too far on the side of some powers that be and that do not even have a name (yet).

    Its happy or cheerful look is not related to its essence.

    You have no idea how it hurts me to be called a “technocrat”. Or maybe you do. My job is primarily user support. The technocrats are the ones who conceive and design the systems with which my users need help. Those technocrats rarely want to listen to the “feedback” from the users or folks like me. Technology has not only become “too exacting” as you say, but keeps needlessly morphing into less and less usable forms, thus dragging us hapless slaves to the market, where the latest versions are sold. Existing versions, once well-known and stable, are “end-of-lifed” by the publishers, abandoned and no longer supported. Thanks technocrats!

    I would like to know what this means: “some powers that be and that do not even have a name (yet)”. It sounds spooky.

    What is essential is invisible to the eye?

  17. Yes, I know AVG, and it is very nice.

    But you see how I did not ask you for advice. I had an uncle who was a doctor and who was terribly afraid of people asking him about their problems in the street. And so I never do that kind of thing.

    Yes, a quick Google search reveals that Avast! needs to be uninstalled with a special utility and Windows in Safe Mode. Now THAT is the work of technocrats dear cantueso! Going back to the shop sounds like a great idea. Good luck.

    I’m sorry to have proffered unsolicited advice. I often feel like your uncle and in my world people sometimes ask their questions by complaining about their systems. In a charitable mood I will offer advice, when tired I say “Jeez, that’s too bad”.

    I think I understand what you were getting at with the techno comparison critique of Ms. Stark’s works. Thanks for contributing your thoughts.

  18. But I did not mean “unsolicited advice”. I only meant to say that I was not asking indirectly asking for advice, which I think is a very impolite and dumb thing to do, except maybe in a specialized forum.

    You say you are not a technocrat, but the university would not need a helpdesk if the software manufacturers did not keep changing their ware.

    I have not yet brought the computer back to the shop where they will have to disinstall this Avst for me, since they installed it or allowed it to be installed. So I kept trying to disinstall, and each time the card said I had to “disable the Avast self-defense module” which I could not find in their immense self-help manual.

    And then I found it! I did! And disabled that thing!
    And went and tried to disinstall the anti-virus. What happened? A different card came up saying that removing the folder was simply not permitted.

    Yes, this all makes perfect sense. Kudos to you for persisting with removal of Avast. And I like your word “disinstall” better than our word “uninstall”. 🙂 I hope that you are soon to be happy with your new computer.

  19. “What is essential is invisible to the eye?”

    But you know that everybody (the Greeks, Aquinas, Kant, contemporary atheists, the Pope) agree that all information comes in through “our senses”, not necessarily your own, though. Accordingly the reaction to sound or to a picture or to language would be made up of some 1000000000000 factors like heredity, education, the weather, age, mood, food, yesterday’s TV, today’s news, the mood your boss is in, the pile-up on your desk, the dirt on the keyboard, etc.

    But the result is a single feeling, though not necessarily a clear or a static one, and as a full-time Proust reader I feel obliged to go after such a feeling to find its roots. But one can do that only in some regards. I can’t do anything with music and little with pictures. I am better with text.

    “On ne voit bien qu’avec le cœur. L’essentiel est invisible pour les yeux.” (One cannot see well except with the heart, the essential is invisible to the eyes). I was clumsily quoting from The Little Prince.

    That “single feeling” is the thing isn’t it? The 1000000000000 factors are artificial. The observer observes itself observing itself … Never got too far with Proust myself. Maybe I was too young when I tried it. Put me straight to sleep. 😦

  20. Don’t worry about your Proust aversion. “The little Prince” is almost as instructive and a lot shorter .

    And there are drawings.

    If I worried about all the literature I’ve missed, I’d be a total nervous wreck. Same for movies, music, and TV. Who has time for all the media?

  21. The 10000000000000 are artifical you say? I would have thought that they are the stuff that people’s minds are made of.

    Yes, that is how and why they are artificial. I say that the 10000000000000 things are not what Mind is made of but rather that with which Mind furnishes its rooms in the tireless metric adventure to encompass the universe.

  22. The computer works, but the kid who set it up for me installed the hard disk of the old computer in addition to the hard disk of the new computer. I have two “desktops” (that is the name of what is on your screen when you start out, isn’t it?) In Spanish it is “escritorio”, meaning writing table. I simply have two of everything, two C, two F. two “Images” two “Music”.

    I think the computer kid did that because it was easier or safer for him to install the old disk instead of transferring its contents.

    It is messy, and it has taken me nearly a year to avoid getting lost or losing things or even understanding which things would land where.

    I would have done the same thing as the kid did. Preserving the user’s old data is one of the most important objectives in computer repair work. If this can be accomplished simply by putting the old hard drive into the new computer, it is most expedient, though, as you say, it’s usually confusing to the non-nerd user. (nerd = a person versed in computer jargon) One hopes that the user will sort through their old and new stuff, and decide what’s important to keep. The best concept to impart is that of redundancy. Which is to say that if something on your computer is really important to you, you will have extra copies of it on CDs, flash drives, Google Documents, etc.

    And yes, “desktop” is the name for the startup screen of the operating system. I like that “escritorio” means writing table. It is the analog symbol that fits best with what that screen represents. Many users have the habit of leaving their current project files and folders scattered across the screen. Just like a “real” desk.

    That you have two C: and two F: drives is a bit strange however. Does the computer offer the option of multiple startup systems when first turned on? Perhaps the kid left you with shortcuts pointing to the relevant places on your old hard drive.


Leave a Reply

Categories

