Posted by: David | October 24, 2008

The Hunter’s Moon

Not a lot in mind to post here (even less than the usual zero), but I’ve accumulated a backlog of images that I’d like to share with you. I will attempt to string these together with the usual jagged narrative. And we shall call this “content”. Guaranteed free of charge to you, My Internet Friends, or your money back!


The “Hunter’s Moon” sets in the western sky.

Early one morning, before dawn, a few of the odder objects on our kitchen window sill awaited the opening bell of the New York Stock Exchange. There were a few hours to go. They looked a little stressed and concerned, didn’t they?


Recognize the pepper? It’s still shriveling.


The stock market will rise today. Then fall tomorrow.

The figurine has a salt crystal on its head. A fairly large salt crystal. Toward the end of last year’s record snowy winter, some really large salt crystals appeared on the pathways of the campus.ย  I often picked up the bigger specimens to display in my office. Crystals are naturally fascinating (to me anyway). This crystal made it home to my kitchen window sill. And got parked on top of the odd bisque figurine.


Oliver remembers Chinese saying: “Morning contains the essence of the day.”


The flowering aloe as of last week. This week it’s been dripping. Ewwww.


In our backyard is a bush with pretty fuzzy little flowers.


OK I got a bit carried away by the fuzzy flowers in the sunlight …

We pronounce ourselves ready for winter. Lawn mowers are put away and snow blower is brought out, started and run briefly, then parked at the ready.


A couple of tomato plants we’re hoping will give a few more fruits …


4:00 pm, the market closes.ย  Up 700 down 500 up 300 down 200. Eek.

Responses

  1. That is a great and new idea there, to quote the dog’s thoughts. Maybe instead of that Chinese thing he remembers

    “some that will evermore peep through their eyes and laugh like parrots at a bag piper”
    merchant 1.1.52

    But you really found a way to serve caviar to the general, as Shakespeare would have said, which is much more polite than the Biblical one of the pearls and the pigs, IMHO.

    I’m sure there’s a very nice compliment in those words, and I thank you cantueso. Attributing abstract thoughts to our pets actions is, for us, a large part of the fun of having pets.

  2. And the chairs in front of the tomato plants: do you sit there and watch them ripen? Is this the inside of that shack that you fixed up for your plants? It seems to be turning into a living room, though there is not yet any TV and that little coffee table with a stick of magazines covering up The New Yorker.

    You have no idea how thrilling it is to know how keenly you observe the photos posted here. Or maybe you do.

    Yes, that’s the inside of the crude greenhouse, complete with the junky plastic furniture. We don’t sit in there much, but it would be a great place to catch some UV rays in winter’s bleakest times, to fight off the winter blues. I think I’ll give it a try this winter. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. That first picture is incredible. I feel like you should charge me for looking at it. Do you have a paypal account? The other pictures are remarkable too, but I’m especially smitten with #1.

    Thanks Allison! I’m so glad you like it. That’s our back yard. We take lots of pictures of it. I don’t have a paypal account, so you’ll just have to send $0.00 to me at my regular URL. In order to qualify for the money back guarantee. Nyuk.

  4. The first photo IS incredible but I absolutely love the fuzzy flower photos. I’m nosy I know but what’s inside that Mayan looking vase thingy? Is it a crystal or a piece of paper? Is it Mayan? I love that too.

    Thank you Joan! That’s not nosy at all! I wish I knew where that weird artifact came from. All I can think to say is that if it’s not Mayan, it’s Yard Sale. And yes, that’s a crystal of salt on its head. A really big one- about 1.5 inches.

  5. I’m going to have nightmares about that head sitting beside the shrivelled pepper…just so you know; I’ll let you know how said nightmare goes if I remember it…

    Yeah, that little head has always kinda creeped me out too. We usually have a little dried flower sticking out of it so it’s less creepy, but there hasn’t been a flower in there for some time. Maybe someone will take care of that soon. Please let us know any dreams you might have. They could be very important! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  6. A compliment in those words! It is a sarcastic comment about people who find everything funny. The dog looks like he has had enough. But I have not read that play for some time and can’t remember the context.

    Listen. Do you remember I told you I thought that JPEGs get dark in time? By now I am pretty sure that is so, because I often get little photos from Wiki to include in my posts, for instance about the King of Spain or about bridges. Most of these I have to lighten up. I do that with a prrogram called “Photo editor” which I believe is part of my Word97; I mean to say a simple program, as I have not learnt how to use Photoshop.

    Now if you have time look at this Titian at Wiki. It is only some 40KB, and it is so dark that you can no longer see the back legs of the horse : http://tinyurl.com/5l7y29. It seems to me that the photographer would not have sent it in that way. Also I believe that the art photos in Wiki are selected and have to come up to some standards.

    That is just an example. Most of of Wiki’s art photos are that way. I also think that if you lighten up a JPEG, it will again turn dark more quickly.

    Hmmmph! Well I find your sarcasm funny! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ ๐Ÿ™‚ Oliver was surveying his domain just after sunrise. Your interpretation of his expression is amusing. I win! ♥

    AS for this jpeg darkening phenomenon I just cannot seem to wrap my head around it. I believe you and your eyes, but I cannot think of a mechanism for how a digital file such as a jpeg could change on its own. JPEG is a compression algorithm and is called a “lossy” one, but that has no bearing on the jpeg files that one finds all over the internet. Those files are fixed archives of data bits. How can they change? It would be like saying that the number 11,344 has decayed and is now only 11,340. See what I mean?

    That Titian painting image you link to is terribly dark, yes. I don’t believe that there are really any good wiki standards with respect to fine art images. Maybe someday there will be. A high quality digital version of such a large work would also be large maybe hundreds of megabytes in a raw or TIFF format. Here’s another jpeg I found that’s a little better.

  7. Also, now I remember a white orchid, one with many small flowers along a single curved stem standing in line with other plants at a window: I thought that white orchid had darkened considerably since I had last seen it.

    I think that you may need a new display for your computer. Have you found any people who agree with you on this phenomenon of jpeg darkening? Have you done any research or is this your own observation so far?

  8. I’m so envious of your greenhouse/coldframe/whatchamacallit. OK, I might not know what to call it, but I know a room designed for growing plants before and after season when I see one. ๐Ÿ˜€

    And yes, photo #1 is breathtaking.

    Thanks Adam. We’ve been calling it a greenhouse, though it might not fit the standard definition of one. We won’t be able to keep it from freezing in the winter, so it’s really just a season extender, which is what a coldframe is. In my dreamworld a greenhouse is attached to the house so it can both provide heat and take heat from the house and can be used all winter. Winters here are lengthy and cold.

  9. The latest dream I can remember was one in which my face kept getting weird and contorted and I couldn’t make it look normal again..then I woke up with a start..I think that dream has a lot to do with the creepy head in your picture, but I’ll let you decide.

    Well that is a frightening dream all right Romi. I won’t attempt to interpret it as it seems too obvious in light of your recent “don’t-look-at-me-I’m-hideous” post. It’s hard being beautiful sometimes isn’t it?

    I don’t even remember where we got that creepy little head, but we’ve had it for ages. You look a lot better than that thing, lemme tell ya!!

  10. About the darkening of JPEG files: I have seen it only on my computer, but there it is a fact. But I asked once at a photographer forum, and they said that JPEG files are not used to store pictures, only to send them online. However, they used so much jargon in their explanations that I told them I only wanted to know THE NECESSARY MINIMUM ๐Ÿ˜€

    You should have seen the reaction.

    Thank you, I can well imagine that reaction. What they told was a good way to think of it. JPEG is a compression algorithm that makes it fast and easy to share photographic files of reasonable quality. Digital photograph files for more serious purposes are thousands of times larger and not practical for web browsing.

    Did you understand and/or agree with my point on how a digital file is a fixed entity?


Leave a Reply

Categories

