Posted by: David | October 13, 2008

Oktoberfest

Hmmm. Which “October Surprise” will we allow to occupy my fragmented and momentary attention? Let’s see, there are just too many to choose from. Good ones and bad ones. And ones that are not surprises at all. Like the foliage. It’s just past peak here in New Hampshire’s Kearsarge region. It’s beautiful this year. As always.


This maple cluster is on the back road to Hillsborough.

Went for a much needed bike ride Sunday afternoon, taking the default loop through Henniker and Hillsborough. It was a beautiful afternoon. The roadside offered its typical sights, along with the seasonal ones.


The Route 114 cairn has assumed a very stalwart configuration for Fall 2008.

The cairn is not as dramatic as it had once been, making one wonder who may have reconstructed it this time around. At least nobody has knocked it down for a few months. Perhaps this modest design draws less attention from the destructive vagabonds traveling this road. It looks all hunkered down, saying come on punk, make my day! Maybe the punks can focus instead on throwing their dung at the campaign signs. I’d happily join them, but I don’t normally carry dung on bike rides.


Roadside Detritus Department: 4 Ladies Tops

You have to wonder when you see clothing on the roadside. Over the past few years I would say that I see more women’s clothing items on the roadside than men’s. I don’t know what this means. Maybe it means nothing. Today I saw 4 different women’s blouses on the road within a couple of miles. I’m thinking that someone’s laundry basket may have been too hastily thrown in the back of the truck. I actually brought home 3 of these garments which were of colors that my wife and daughter might wear. They smelled like some kind of yukky fabric softener sheets. Will they wear these? If not then they will re-become the rags which they were when I found them on Route 114. Along with the annual blight of campaign signs.


Oh GREAT! So now there are TWO??!?!

I’m holding back further commentary on this sign, as I do not wish to offend any Republicans that might read my blog. (Let me state clearly that I am not a Republican, but I respect their right to their charmingly nostalgic 1950s opinions on everything. What a pity that those sentiments are useless in this century.) Doubtful they would ever waste their valuable, important, productive, serious time anyway reading the useless crap I post here. And I guess I can’t really blame them … 😦


This is where I found my freedom.

OK I didn’t really find my freedom there, but I did ride past it Sunday afternoon, and what a great song, eh? It’s a long-defunct PYO (pick your own) blueberry farm on Bacon Road in Henniker. The rows of blueberry bushes are all overgrown with brilliant scarlet leaves.


Route 202/9 West out of Hillsborough, New Hampshire.

In the spirit of Autumn, a Thoughts-0-Dave first: a homemade video. In the bottom-left corner of our large picture window, a couple days ago I observed a spider working on securing a ladybug that had gotten snagged in its web. Another sign of fall around here is the infiltration of the lady beetles. We don’t know how they get in, but they do. So I captured this video of the spider working on its prey.


Apologies to arachnophobic readers. 😦

That was a couple of days ago. Tonight the spider is still sucking guts out of the ladybug. I apologize again, more expansively, to any readers are creeped out by spiders, ladybugs, Democrats for John McCain, Fall Foliage or whatever. I was surprised that my little camera was able to easily capture this scene next to a window flowerpot.


Mmmmmmmmmmmmm. Laaaaadybug guuts.

Next slide please.


This red jalapeno, like the economy, is still shriveling.


The government will be distributing these bags to all taxpayers. Sorry, one per citizen please. Make sure all your personal belongings fit inside the bag.

I’m not really sure where this post is going [as usual], but I think we’re done with the economy-themed portion of this post. So I went for a bike ride, like I said, and it sure was a beautiful fall afternoon. I mean really beautiful. Glad I brought the camera along.


The pavement itself caught my eye today.

The ride took me a little longer because I stopped in Henniker for an ice cream cone. The “small” strawberry sugar cone had 2 scoops on it. I wonder how they build a “large” cone. I thought I might give myself an ice cream headache, eating it with the necessary speed, but I didn’t. Things were peaceful when I got back to the house. Oliver snored on top of his 2 satin pillows.


Let sleeping dogs lie.



Finally got the Great Blue Woodstove all hooked up.

Guess that’s it for now. Thanks for reading πŸ™‚

Responses

  1. Wow. The blue stove looks more navy now than that bright blue we first saw. So which is it?!

    It was a beautiful weekend – lots of fall color and the best temps to enjoy it all. Thx for sharing these. That spider had great music to work to! It was nice of you to play it for him (her?) That mushroom makes me think of pancakes…

    And, finally! I posted a cairn pic in my latest post, too. I’m not touching the politics, (no- yes, I am!) but I wouldn’t be surprised if some Republican claims that cairn photo as their own – the word ‘stalwart’ sounds slogan-y, doesn’t it?

    Thanks for visiting C πŸ˜€ The music is from the Sample Music that comes on most Windows computers, called “I Ka Barra (Your Work)” by Habib KoitΓ© and Bamada. TMI, huh? Sorry.

    The stove blueness … I always manipulate my pix with Microsoft Office Picture Manager (occasionally PhotoShop) and zap the color saturation up to 42 then click AutoCorrect and it often makes the colors “pop”. The stove does indeed look more navy blue than it did in the midday sun in front of the house. DAMN TMI AGAIN. Sorry. 😦

    Politics. Please wait here while I go get my 10-foot pole.

    πŸ˜€

  2. My connection is not working, and I can’t go to the cyber because I still have the flu.

    I’m sorry you’re not feeling well cantueso. I hope you feel better soon. And I hope your connection feels better soon too.

  3. This was an interesting look through your eyes. πŸ™‚ The video made me sad because that ladybug was still alive. I watched its little legs move and wondered if it was scared.

    Thanks for looking through my eyes πŸ˜€ I’m sorry about the sadness birdpress. But at least I preapologized in the post, though not specifically for the insect violence. OK, arachnid-on-insect violence. As to whether the ladybug felt afraid, I’d like to think not, but how can we know?

  4. Oh GREAT! So now there are TWO??!?!

    Ha!

    There are also signs that read “Another FAMILY for McCain”. Possibly amusing variations:
    Another ILLEGAL ALIEN for McCain
    Another DRUG ADDICT for McCain
    Another INVESTMENT BANKER for McCain
    Another TERRORIST for McCain

  5. i love that humongous fungus. I mean, it’s big for a fungus, but actually it’s pretty tiny compared to, say, the Crab Nebula. the stars on it make me think of steven hawking and the theory of everything. i don’t feel any worse for the lady bug on that account, though. And Oliver makes a persuasive case for oblivion, doesn’t he?

    “humongous fungus”!! πŸ˜€ ♥ (It WAS a large specimen ~7 inches in diameter.)

    Thanks muchly for you pithy comment. And for the shoutout to steven h- the everything dude.

    Oliver’s Oblivion (nice title for something, huh?) gives new meaning to “It’s a dog’s life”.

    πŸ˜€ ♥ πŸ˜€ ♥ πŸ˜€ ♥

  6. What a nice day with awesome pictures to boot. Thanks for taking us along.

    You are so welcome! Been meaning to tell you that I got 4 good LOLs at work with that ‘failure not an option’ line of yours. πŸ˜€ ♥

  7. Another OUTSOURCER for McCain.

    😐

    Hee hee!

  8. It should be another IDEA for McCain; a new toaster for McCain; a potful of honey for McCain.

    Hmmm. Potful of honey. I like that one! Like Winnie the Pooh!

  9. I have been wondering about that yellow material behind the stove. Can it take high temperatures? And the plants above.

    Yes, it’s cement block, painted a yellowish color. We’re planning to touch it up with some white highlights to make it look like adobe. The plants will have to be moved obviously. This stove will only have small, decorative type fires in it.

  10. When I saw your vid about the spider preparing its ladybug prey for feasting, I thought that was the worst of it…and then I saw the next pic….oh goodness, all that gut consumption, how dreadful! 😦

    ..but alas, circle of life and all that…okay, okay.

    Well anyway the foliage in your pics was really beautiful! (lol… πŸ˜‰ )

    Yeah, I’m sorry about that. The other ladybugs weren’t too happy about it either. Circle of life indeed. That’s a nice way to look at it. You are so thoughtful Romi πŸ™‚

  11. I’m so happy that fall is here. October is my favorite month. I’ll always be envious of your New England autumns, though we have a pretty good show out here too.

    OUTSOURCER for McCain πŸ˜€ LOL!!

    Glad you like the autumn, Adam. The beauty of the foliage is wonderful, true, but I’ll take the spring thanks. Autumn is the harbinger of winter, which can be a fairly lengthy and depressing season here in norther New England.

    Nimish is quite comical, no? Most astute too. I don’t know how the hell he found my teeny tiny corner of blogdom, but I’m very glad he did. Glad you did too.

  12. Hey! Where’d my avatar go!

    I didn’t do it I swear! I see this odd avatar behavior from time to time. It’s gotta be WordPress gremlins. Or maybe Jennifer Connelly took it. πŸ™‚

  13. Hey! Where’d my avatar go!

    Hunting???

    πŸ˜€

  14. That foliage is fascinating…truly it is. I keep waiting for the leaves to turn here for a photo blog, but I think they’re going to fall off the trees before they change. I hold the Ike-remant storm a few weeks ago responsible. However, even if they do change, I don’t think I’m going to find anything like that red maple tree you first pictured.

    Very puzzling about the shirts. Somehow, I manage to make it from point A to point B with mine on every day. Doesn’t seem to challenge me much.

    That was us last year, all browns and yellows.

    I’m sure it was a laundry accident, since all 4 garments were Downy fresh.

    Oh and good going on keeping your shirt on! Except in the men’s locker room, eh? πŸ˜€

  15. In a hurry.

    I have an old post about Madrid. There are accesses to a lot of big stuff like Bruegel and Chagall and Tiziano and the royal palace, but the thing that gets the hits is a picture of two or three goats. They are she goats.

    I don’t know what to think of that.

    She goats you say? πŸ˜€

  16. Your pictures are beautiful! The maples are my favorite!

    Hi Lucky, thanks for your comment. We all love the maples. They have the greatest color spectrum. Now the leaves are being taken by the wind and the rain. 😦

  17. Yes, SHE-goats. They are pregnant, because the babies are needed for the X-mas market. It’s called family planning.

    Or does “she goat” as a term not exist? Is there another word for the female?

    O yes, “she goat” is quite acceptable. “Nanny goat” may be more common in the USA, but since I’ve never been involved with many goat-herds, I cannot speak with any authority. We had sheep years ago, and lambs in the spring. Some local middle-eastern folks, once they’d found us, came to us annually looking for Easter lambs. We sold them, and they took the lambs away still alive.

  18. Yes. The potful of honey for McCain was to help him forget.

    Honey helps forget, though it has also other properties and I think I read somewhere that Jewish children are given some honey when they learn how to read.

    That’s a new one for me. I never heard of honey helping to make one forget, but have heard of its other health properties. I’m glad you clarified this comment, though McCain as Winnie the Pooh was fun for a second. Maybe the honey is what makes Winnie the Pooh so stupid.


Leave a Reply

Categories

