Posted by: David | December 3, 2007

Greenhouse Continued … ?

Well the first big snowstorm has hit us this fine Monday. One of those annoying storms that is only halfway done for your morning commute, which sucks and takes forever, and then you have brushing another half a foot off of snow off after your day’s work is done and slog your way home without crashing your car … well you get the idea. Not that you, Internet, have to commute or anything, since you just live on computers and all.

Feeling kinda crappy this morning anyway, I decided to call in sick, stay home and gather up enough strength to run the snowblower once it stops snowing. Not complaining about the weather or anything, in fact, we’ve never been more ready for winter what with our fancy new garage and woodshed full of nice dry cordwood, freshly serviced snowblower, proper generator hookup, etcetera. In fact, it looks awfully pretty out there with the 12 inches that has fallen so far.

So here’s where the greenhouse is at. The heavy pressure treated beams that form the base of the greenhouse frame are screwed together, level, and in place. More or less. This is a build-as-I-go project don’t forget. My plans for the front studs were revised when I realised that every stud was to be a unique length. Putting the 16-foot 2×4 up against the rafter ends allowed putting the front wall studs at a more regular spacing than the rafters were. A little “bird’s mouth” at the upper end fits under the rafter-end board.

nailers.jpg
There’s me putting in the spacer blocks at the bottoms of the studs.

nailers2.jpg
Aren’t these all supposed to be 22 and a half inches?!

nailers3.jpg
How about here? Anyway they’re all in and nailed up solid. I probably ought to enhance the attachment at the top ends of the studs with some kind of sheet-metal joist hanger-like thingies.

olliepissin.jpg
Oliver registers his approval of the project so far.

snowstorm.jpg
And today’s snow covers the project. But not for long. Hopefully.

I’ll need to frame up the gable ends and put a door in on the western end. The exposed studs and rafters will be covered with the overpriced sheets of SunSky corrugated polycarbonate. I should have done some more research on that … It’s still gonna be a great greenouse. Hopefully weather will permit finishing it before next spring.

pissedpost.jpg
Hmmm, smells like someone pissed here! Who could it be? ME?! Maybe!

olliesnow.jpg
Loves the snow this dog does. Good thing.

Responses

  1. I’m really envious of your greenhouse. My mother had one when I was growing up, and then when I had a garden column I got to visit some of the coolest greenhouses I’ll probably ever see. It was such a relief to escape into those warm and wonderfully leafy rooms on days exactly like the one in your photos. And I love Oliver! Man, he is cute. Glad to see he’s obviously taking care of himself and staying plenty hydrated.

  2. Oliver is adorable!!!! The greenhouse is going to be beautiful. You put us all to shame with all of this work you’ve been doing in your spare time. Hope you’re feeling better!

  3. Thanks ladies, your encouragment is much appreciated. And I’ll pass your compliments on to the ankle-biter. Actually he’s more of a foot-humper with aspirations of World Domination and Control. Very Type A, but with a lot of licking.

    You get the idea …

    And MMQ- yes I am feeling MUCH better, thanks, so I’ll get right back to putting you people to shame! Weather permitting. My current mission is to find the very special 3/4-inch gasketed screws for holding down the Sunsky panels. My local lumber yard said I could order a minimum of 500 (of which I’d need about 360), wait 3 weeks for them, then pay about $200. Talk about getting screwed. Sorry.

  4. I love Oliver!

  5. Yeah, Oliver is a chick magnet! Though most women that visit our home don’t really like the foot-humping. But he’s good with children, so that’s redeeming.

  6. I see you have a complete woodwork vocabulary; and did you learn how to do this by yourself? — It does not look like you did this for the first time, but the mustard beds, their layout, did not either. Why do the walls of the greenhouse have to be slanted? To get that more light when the sun is on a low horizon?

  7. 200 dollars for 500 screws! Can’t you find those on the net much cheaper? What kind of screws could that be? Anyway, it sounds like a sad joke on the future of the dollar.

  8. I worked with a few carpenters here and there in my 20s and picked up a few things. And gardening I’ve been doing forever. You’re right about the slanted greenhouse walls. It helps here in the northern latitudes to maximize “solar gain” in winter months when the sun is very low in the sky. I didn’t calculate the wall’s angle though, it’s pretty much “deterministically random”.

    I found cheaper screws ($10 per 100) which will be fine. And everything is sad joke on the future of the dollar, isn’t it?

  9. The plants will be happy with all that light. Don’t you think that at this angle the snow might pile up on that fassade?

    Anyway, the slant and its explanation are well figured out. It’s nice to have clear, sound, objective reasons for that kind of constructions.


Leave a Reply

Categories

