Posted by: David | November 23, 2007

Greenhouse

As you’ve probably noticed, Internet, we do a great deal of gardening. We start our own seedlings, dig in the dirt all summer, and have had various incarnations of coldframes, sunny windows,  and crude greenhouses in the 30 years my wife and I have worked the grounds which we’ve called home.

Our current home came with a chicken coop, which we used as a sheep shed for our first 7 or so years here. The sheep went away shortly after my wife’s Saab materialized (connection? mmmmmaybe), and the shed deteriorated on its own schedule. I tried to drop a giant pine tree on it a few years back. Just missed. Visualized greenhouses off the south face of it for a few years, and my wife craftily stretched chicken wire and poly over it for a few springs. Now, with the garage project and home equity loan as inspirations, along with a notion of what a fine 30th anniversary present this would be, it’s finally coming together.

thebeforepicture.jpg
The before picture. This shed is about 16 feet long by 8 feet deep, mouldering on cinder blocks.

before-cleanup.jpg
Cleaned up the area. The dead plant in the blue muckbasket was some kind of hot pepper.

The plan is to lay another layer of rafters right atop the existing remains, roof with metal and translucent panels. Sounds simple enough. Having stripped off the dregs of the roll roofing, the existing rafters are visible at both ends. The new rafters (2x4s) are drilled with half-inch holes about 1.5″ deep, follow by a smaller through-hole that will allow a 6″ long hex head deck screw (about 50 of them) to catch the rafters under the rotting plywood.

rafters.jpg
Eyeballing the centers of the 2x4s. Rafters 6 and 7 have nothing to attach to below, hence the missing holes. Hmm. Can a hole really be missing?

The rafters went on pretty well, though the drill I used to drive them wasn’t fully up to the job. Had to go back and hand-tighten them all with a 1/4″ ratchet. Maybe the drill, which has this wimpy “hammer-action” feature, didn’t like first being used with a 1/2″ masonry bit to deepen the hole in the giant boulder (to which I mentioned losing Round 1 in a previous post). Whatever. Black and Decker piece of junk … Rafter 6 really didn’t get good connection in any of the screws I put through it. Oh well, close enough. It’s a team effort. On top of rafters, on 2-foot centers go the 16 foot pieces of strapping.

day1.jpg
Ready for 8′ sheets of galvanized roofing to cover shed part. Tomorrow.

And though you can’t see it in the picture above, the aforementioned granite boulder is behind the withered perennials in the lower right corner. It will be in the way of the 16 foot 6X6 pressure-treated beam that will catch the bottoms of the glazing studs to be attached to the bottoms of the rafters. It’s gotta go. The red pinch bar sticking out from under it is a 6 footer, for scale.

stupidboulder.jpg
Here’s the stupid boulder. Another obstacle in my way …  but that is the way of obstacles grasshopper …

splitrock.jpg
Round 2. I win. These pieces are moveable.

I now ache, pleasantly victorious over the granite. As the sun set, I drove 3 cold chisels into the hole with successively bigger hammers, and beat on the sides a few times with the splitting maul’s sledge side. The sound changed as I whacked the 3rd chisel (jammed between the first two- the classic wedgie) home and the boulder finally gave it up. Tink, tink, tink, THUNK. Ain’t technology great?

Responses

  1. You are like a blog posting MACHINE this week! That vacation must have done you a world of good.

    I’ve tagged you for a meme this evening. And now that you’re on such a roll, it should be no problem at all for you…

  2. D’OH!

  3. Jeez, isn’t anyone impressed at the splitting of a giant boulder? It ended up that only one of the pieces needed to be moved. The remaining piece wasn’t really in the way. So no you know.

  4. Totally impressed. That is quite the task you took on.

  5. THANK YOU MARCIA! Crap, what’s a guy gotta do to get some attention on the internet now? Split a frikkin boulder for crissakes!

    Sheesh!

  6. (I’ll save this for another day).
    Off-Topic: you would not happen to know why it is that on your blog I can go backwards, for instance back to what I read before or back to my own place, and cannot do that in most other internet sites and blogs? This has been so for a long time.

    It means for instance that after each visit to a new blog (one that I do not have listed in my papers) I have to log in again.

    Would you think the snag is in those pages or in my Windows XP home?

    My first guess would be that your web browser is not keeping the logged-in state when you browse away from a WordPress blog like mine and yours. I would ask if your Windows XP Home Edition is fully updated, and are you using Internet Explorer 7? And if so, are its security settings proper?

    The expected and desired behavior would be for you to remain logged in while you browse amongst other WordPress blogs. If you browsed to a blog at Blogspot (Google’s blog site) for example, it makes sense that you’d need to log in if you wanted to leave a comment. But as you browse amongst other WordPress blogs, logged in, you should be able to comment without repeatedly logging in. Confused?

  7. No. It is not just when I try to write a comment. It is more of a bug when I simply read blogs. I go to some WordPress index of blogs, open one, read, try to get back to the index: can’t.

    That is, the green arrow on the left of the navigation bar works only on some blogs and some internet pages, but not on most.

    Having to log in again is only an example. Another example: I open an newspaper home page. I see they have something about a poll. I open the poll. And then I can’t simply go back to that newspaper home page.

    But it is really a minor thing, more of a riddle than a problem.

    Because you wrote “green arrow” I’m going to infer that you are using Internet Explorer 6. If so, then you are missing out on a wonderful web-browsing aid: tabs! Tabs allow you to have many pages open but within a single window, each page having a tab at the top. It makes it easier to navigate by eliminating the need to close out windows “behind you”, if that makes any sense.

    Internet Explorer 7 and FireFox both have the tabbed browsing feature. I hope this is helpful information.

  8. I found the glitch, the default, the snag. It was at Moonbeam’s. Her blog is one of those that don’t let me get out. I was going to make a list of those that do and those that don’t. And then, by accident, I saw. I’ll tell you later.

    Good work cantueso. Moonbeam’s blog doesn’t let me out either, but not because of any technical reasons. My inner computer geek needs to know, please, what version of what web browser you’re using on your computer. That way I can know how far off my speculations were …

  9. I use Mozilla Firefox, and I found this. (It has long intrigued me, but I do not have any theoretical knowledge and can’t deal rationally with any computer problem. — Mostly I swear. I give loud signs of exasperation. I pull the plug. That is a very good way, recommended by the most erudite. And two times or three I actually shed tears of rage and exhaustion, when there was a problem that simply had to be solved. Jee! the day when I discovered that my Word program did not understand English commands!)

    So now, listen: Toolbar left: that green arrow? Right click. What do you see? Depending. On Moonbeam’s place you will see her own blog mentioned twice!!!! And there is one (I’ll get his access afterwards) where you’d see his own blog listed 3 times! As if you had come there from there! On the blogs of 100swallows and
    Johnnypeepers, if you right-click that green arrow, you will see their own site listed only once and below that the place where you came from.

    I have not yet checked all yet.

    YES cantueso, as an official IT person I commend you for using long-standing best practice procedures of swearing and unplugging.

    I have just downloaded and installed FireFox 2.0.0.12 and will start “walking in your shoes” as the saying goes.

    Right-clicking the “BACK” arrow appears to show a trail of previous pages. What appear to be multiple entries may just be the result of navigation within a single post and its comments, or within multiple posts from a blog.

    Are you using the tabs feature?

    Do you ever do any “maintenance” actions for your browser, like clearing the “cache” or “private files” as the current version of Firefox calls them?

  10. Here is the really great blog of the100swallows http://100swallows.wordpress.com/
    There is no problem.

    And here is a literature blog of “eclectically” http://eclectically.wordpress.com/
    I can’t get out. I right-clicked the arrow and saw his own blog listed 3 times.

  11. It could be that one can’t get out of blogs where there is a “sitemeter”, which is a rather complex, free stats program.

    Cantueso I’ve been using Firefox now, and not experiencing the kind of capture-lock you describe.

    And please tell these 2 things:

    What version of Firefox are you using (click Help, About Mozilla Firefox)??

    Are you using the Tab feature?

    I’m still thinking that you’re just experiencing navigational issues, and that these blogs which appear to capture you are not really the issue. I’m trying to help here …

  12. Strange. I can’t remember this conversation, and I never read that blog post, but landed here because, whenever I look up something of my own on Google, something which I once knew and then forgot, your blog is the first that comes up.


Leave a Reply

Categories

