Posted by: David | November 17, 2007

Garage Complete

The garage project is officially complete now. Save for a small “punch list” of yet to be completed minor items.  The completion is marked by the actual parking of cars inside. What a concept. My wife’s and my dad’s cars get to be inside this winter. My ’96 Camry likes staying outside. It’s just that kind of a rugged car. Maybe next year I’ll get to park my car in the garage!

img_1392.jpg
2 cars, 6 bicycles, and the assorted bits of other junk.

And some exterior views …

img_1394.jpg
The front of the garage. Nighttime view.

img_1395.jpg
The entry room. A spotlight will be installed between window and door.

backslab.jpg
Same view a month or two before.

So it’s pretty cool to have a garage. And a woodshed. Now what will happen to my property taxes? Bet they’ll be going down?

Responses

  1. I love the bikes hanging upside-down from the rafters. I don’t have a prayer of getting a garage any time soon, but I want those rafters! The bikes are in the kitchen, and it’s crowded.

  2. A friend of mine who lives in a small apartment has this cool bike rack that she hangs her 2 bikes on. It anchors between floor and ceiling and up against a wall it has a small footprint. I used to hang my bikes in the attic for winter, but now with garage bikes are easier to get to. And thanks to climate change, I probably will be biking some over the winter (as long as its over 40F).

  3. Thanks for the link! I told Tom about it, and he’s going to take a look. I also told him about your riding in 40+ degree weather, hoping that it would inspire us to be less wussy. We’ll see…

  4. You’re welcome. I’m not sure if that’s the exact one my friend has, but I’ll ask her.

    As for cold weather riding, it requires many layers of clothing, wool socks, full gloves, and even then the first 15 minutes is pretty unpleasant. But the benefit is worth the cost. When I get back home my hands and feet are numb.

    Luckily, I acquired a used Reebok spinning bike from the fitness center where I work, which I ride in the morning while watching news hottie CNN’s Robin Meade.


Leave a Reply

Categories

