Posted by: David | October 25, 2007

Sagacious Advice

There’s nothing quite so valuable in life as good advice. You never know where it’s going to come from. It’s provided by the Universe in which we live. Sometimes it comes in the form of a sharp pain in the kidney, other times in the form of an hilarious joke. My friend Kevin at work keeps calling me sagacious. Funny because the word “sagacious” sounds so much like an insult. Don’t know why. Must be some onomatopoeia kinda thing. But it means wise and discerning. Clever, intelligent, judicious, acute, sharp, keen, perspicacious, etcetera, blah blah blah.

Like this. My wife called me at work today to report that there was no hot water at home and the boiler just wasn’t firing up. I said I would look at it when I got home, but try turning off the main switch, waiting a minute, then turning it back on. Like restarting a computer, no? Sagacious. But it didn’t work.

So when I got home I looked at the cold boiler and sure enough, it was not igniting. Odd, since the igniting element was replaced a mere 2 years before. And the original equipment one lasted like ten years. But anywho, I had a spare. When the guy replaced it 2 years ago I asked him to sell me a spare, knowing that this was a key part and that it was the only one to fail on the boiler in the 12 years we’ve been using it. Sagacious. Replaced the ignitor and it worked. Boiler fired up and hot water tank began to warm up. I felt like a worthwhile human. Fire good.

But now I have no spare, and winter is a comin’. So I went on the interweb, looked up our Weil McLain HEII boiler and found some truly sagacious advice at “Master Plumber . Net”. Here’s a guy with some 30 years of boiler experience, willing to help you with your boiler troubleshooting. But he does not want to be sued just because he put up this helpful website, so here’s his sagacious disclaimer:

How to Troubleshoot this boiler. The following is not for non professionals. The very short disclaimer is, YOU CAN BE KILLED, YOU CAN KILL YOUR FAMILY, YOU CAN DESTROY YOUR HOME, AND YOUR NEIGHBORS HOMES AND YOU CAN KILL YOUR NEIGHBORS. DO NOT CONTINUE UNLESS YOU ARE A PROFESSIONAL.

Damn. Wish I was a professional. Oh what the hell. What’s the worst that could happen? I barely even talk to my neighbors anyway!

Responses

  1. This master plumber could find a more lucrative job by becoming a consultant to the pentagon.

  2. I’m glad you commented here too cantueso. This post hardly compares with your heady content, but you’re right about the pentagon who also specialize in “very short disclaimers”.

  3. But there is something special about philosophical posts: after reading one, you forget it instantly. I have just come back to see what the sagacious advice was, as I remembered only that it must have been sagacious.

  4. http://tinyurl.com/2ooh9v

    This is the access to the other Kafka story mentioned, the dancer on the horse, but I do not like it in English; it is too explicit and even somewhat cruel.

    The system would not let me put in this comment beneath my other one, which is why it is here.

  5. Alas, there really was no sagacious advice, other than to be really really careful with propane. Which advice I disobeyed by repairing the boiler in the amateur fashion.

    WordPress doesn’t allow me to allow the author to edit comments- I checked on that- too bad, it would be a nice feature.

    Thanks for that link cantueso. I’m humbled that you’d think of this post as “philosophical”, but you are SO right about The Forgetting. Reminds me of a joke:

    How do you get a philosopher off of your front porch?

    Pay him for the pizza.

  6. I have just found out why that post sounds so funny to me. Some years ago here they had a “census”. They went from door to door and gave everyone a form to fill out. One of the questions asked was “nivel de estudios” that is roughly “educational background”. And there it said: “si Vd no tiene estudios, escriba “analfabeto”” (if you did not go to school, write “analphabet”).


Leave a Reply

Categories

