Posted by: David | October 21, 2007

Serendipity Ride

Long overdue for a bike ride, with lots of stuff needing to be done around the homestead, took the ride anyway. Good thing. As my wife remarked when I returned and told her what had happened on the way back from the Henniker-Hillsborough loop (a 33 mile 2.5 hour ride that I do often), it was serendipity.

Didn’t get on the road until about 2:00. A lovely warm afternoon. Photographed the cairn on the way to Henniker. It definitely looked different than the last time I shot it.

114cairn1021.jpg
October 21, 2007

114cairn2.jpg
September 16, 2007

So the cairn has changed in the last month. Hmmm. Continued on to Henniker. This year’s foliage is about at peak now, with a somewhat subtle range of hues this year.

blueberryhill.jpg
On Bacon Road in Henniker is Blueberry Hill, formerly a PYO blueberry farm.

prettymaples.jpg

Lots of pretty foliage to see. Just what I needed. Tried not to think about the Red Sox. Not much to see in Hillsborough- a quiet Sunday afternoon along the river back towards Henniker. As I reached the two steel bridges on Western Ave. I remembered a weekend ride last fall, when there were some college students (I assume) hanging out in front of the big white house just past the bridges. They had a crudely spray-painted sign on a full sheet of plywood which they were holding up for passing traffic to see. It said “YOU HONK, WE DRINK”. As I rode past I yelled “BEEP BEEP!” and they cheered and drank. I’m sure they were working up data for some sociology experiment for their studies …

amanita.jpg
Almost home, spotted this lovely mushroom. A harbinger of the serendipity.

Then, as I approach the cairn spot, I see a truck parked and A GUY MESSING WITH THE CAIRN!! OMG!

thecairnbuilder.jpg
Serendipity. Glad I went for this ride- met the cairn builder!

So of course I stopped to talk to the fellow. Asked him if he is the original builder of this cairn and he says yeah, he first built it back in April. Told him that I’d been photographing all summer and seen it knocked down a while back. He said he’d just stopped to rebuild it and I told him that it must have been knocked down in the last couple of hours since I’d just photographed it on my way down to Henniker. Wonder if he rebuilt it after that last time I saw it knocked down. Turns out he’s a cabinet builder and hang glider from southern NH. On his way up to Mt Ascutney to hang glide, he checks on this cairn. Says he’s got others around the state. Awesome! We exchange cards and I promise to send him a link to this blog.

After getting home I finished up (almost) nailing the shingles on the entry room roof. A little bit achey and sore as my wife and I watch game 7 of the ALCS.  The Sox are up by two runs.

Responses

  1. So the Sox won game 7 in case you hadn’t heard. And now they’re in the World Series.

    And I have to comment on my own post. Sheesh! Am I a loser or what?

    HEY INTERNET!? HELLO?

    Did you get that the Rt 114 cairn was knocked down for the second time and then rebuilt by its Creator (whom I actually met and talked to) during my bike ride? DUH?!

  2. I mean, like, this was COSMIC.

  3. Yeah. I know.

  4. Heehee. If you don’t have anyone intelligent to talk to, talk to yourself. These pictures are gorgeous. Have to go back to your “About Me” page to see what part of the country you’re in.

  5. What she said …

    Glad you enjoyed the pix moonbeam, thanks for the compliment.

    My “About Me” page is really pretty sucky isn’t it? I should update it with some pithier content. But first I gotta make up a batch …

    I can tell you what part of the country I live in, but then I would have to kill the internet. And I LIKE the internet, so I’ll just tell you anyway. Our idyllic neighborhood is in New Hampshire.

  6. I had to google for it and got a story. The word derives from an old Persian fairy tale and was used in a letter:

    \”It was once when I read a silly fairy tale, called The Three Princes of Serendip: as their highnesses travelled, they were always making discoveries, by accidents and sagacity, of things which they were not in quest of:…. for instance, one of them discovered that a mule….\”

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Serendipity

    Thanks cantueso! This little story of the 3 princes has some real meaning doesn’t it? “Accidental sagacity” is one of my favorite things.

  7. However, I don’t like the way that word has caught on. A new name, a new concept catches on much too fast in the US and becomes irresistible in no time. This is not a reference to the primaries. Remember “anthrax”, remember “WMDs”, that abbreviation that became obligatory in the space of a week?

    Alas, these pseudo concepts are discarded just as fast as they are generated. I call it “Micro Attentive Disorder” (MAD). 😀


Leave a Reply

Categories

