Posted by: David | September 23, 2007

Sunday Ride

What a beautiful Sunday the 23rd turned into. Early morning brought a Yellow Shafted Norther Flicker pecking very perisistently into the grass in our backyard. At first I thought it was a woodcock, one of which we’d seen in the early spring when there was still snow on the ground. They worked the ground in the same focused manner.


Pretty spots on this bird’s underside.

After making us a lovely breakfast of mushroom omelets, bacon, toast and coffee, I went to meet some biking friends up in Potter Place. We  rode east and north on a hilly route. Bonnie and I brought up the rear and gabbed the whole 25 miles. We promised to send each other our current favorite YouTube links. Hers was some teenaged comical filmmakers and mine was some new music by Nellie McKay. And of course that wonderful apocalyptic cartoon


They were much further ahead of us than this most of the time.

On my way home I stopped to take a picture of a maple tree that I’ve been meaning to photograph for many years now. It’s on Route 114 just past Blaisdell Lake. I pass it twice every weekday on my way to and from work. It’s just a lovely lollipop-shaped maple tree, now putting on it’s fall colors.

 
The tree has Dish Network. The Premium package I hope.

Responses

  1. Just discovered your comment and I’m so glad you dropped by!

    My favorite youtube video is still this one.

  2. Yeah Mom-nos that IS a great video. Thank YOU for commenting.


Leave a Reply

Categories

