Posted by: David | August 28, 2007

MEME-TAGGED! Don’t know what it is but …

… a faithful and esteemed commentator has “tagged” me. It seems to be a mashup of the email chain letter, blogging, and that wonderful childhood game called tag. I guess. I don’t really know. 

Not up all this internet stuff, though Homer Simpson says that they have the internet on computers now. Actually he said that about 5 years ago.

So anyway. 

First, The Rules:
1) Post these rules before you give your facts
2) List 8
random facts about yourself
3) At the end of your post, choose (tag) 8 people and list their names, linking to them
4) Leave a comment on their blog, letting them know they’ve been tagged 

Second, it’s not all that simple to say what constitutes randomness. But I’ve been tagged and tasked with presenting an octet of disparate facts contained by my life. I think I can, I think I can, I think I can …

  1. I was born in early June of 1956. (Yes, that’s random)
  2. I am a man. (Also random)
  3. I have never gotten a speeding ticket. (Maybe random)
  4. I love jelly beans. (Deterministic)
  5. The Universe revolves around my right pinky toe. (Deterministic)
  6. I hear music almost all the time in my head. (Cool)
  7. I’m sick of mowing the lawn. (and tired)
  8. I find it very easy to come up with random stuff.
  9. I tend to be a little too wordy.
  10. Ok, a LOT too wordy.
  11. I get carried away on listmaking.
  12. I add unnecessary items.
  13. To the list.
  14. I sucked at tag when I was a kid.
  15. I actually liked being “IT”!!
  16. It was somebody.

So there are 8 random facts about me. I’m not going to tag anyone else, thus spoiling the game. For myself and for others. Sorry.

Responses

  1. Well, Dave, you still like to be IT. You will now be ‘it’ for our arm of this silly inter-blog game FOR ALL ETERNITY. Do you feel warm and fuzzy inside? I’m proud of you for having the intelligence to STOP THE MADNESS! Now, see, if I liked to babble, I’d start some tangent about Susan Powter here, but I’m going to refrain.

  2. Yup. The IT guy!

    Get IT?

    Information Tech … oh forget it.

    “IT”

    It’s a word hard not to use isn’t it?

    Any who, thanks for not making me feel guilty about being non-participatory. And for granting me ETERNAL “IT” status!

  3. This is a very good list, but there should be one more item to make it 17, since 18 sounds rational.

    Listen. Basically I do not like videos (except yours of course of the birds at the feeder, which has been stored away until January 7, when the Kings will have departed from Bethlehem) — but somebody sent me one of a little white parrakeet that tries to wake up a sleepy cat every which way by picking at his paws, ears, even at his nose, and the cat just keeps pushing him away. It is very funny.

    I do not know whether there is also sound, because I watched it early in the morning.

    Oh my, that really is an adorable video! What a pair. There is sound, the bird does a lot of chirping. I wonder what the bird is trying to tell the cat. Thank you for posting this here!

  4. Nada. I found out that everybody made videos of a parrakeet trying to wake up a lazy cat.

    Still I found that video more entertaining than it should have been. Then I thought about how stupid parakeets can really be …

  5. Maybe the cat has lice and the bird is actually “harvesting” (which by the way has become the latest term for “killing in war” and instead of “war” it is now “kinetic action”).

    However, please be informed that parakeets are very very intelligent birds, comparable to cats in the one and only relevant regard: to avoid getting harvested by Man means survival and must be rated highest on any scale.

    I suppose it’s possible that the bird looks at the cat as a possible source of delicious insects, but who knows what Polly’s (Polly = common name for parakeet) really thinking about? We barely know what our fellow hominids are thinking.

    Combatants “harvesting” the enemy? Awful! Harvest implies some posthumous usage of the corpses. In my mind anyway. And no, I’m not a cannibal. I’ll take “attrit” for war terminology.

    Domesticator and domesticated both benefit from the arrangement. Crows and ravens are very very intelligent too.


Leave a Reply

Categories

