Posted by: David | June 26, 2007

Garden Pix

We’ve had our first really hot weather now, and it looks like the jerusalem artichokes are continuing to live up to their varietal name Stampede. As mentioned in a previous post, I ripped up a bunch of stalks that were sprouting into the garlic and beets in bed 16. They have now flopped over onto bed 16. I think they might just be wilting because of being so thickly planted. I probably should have harvested more of the tubers last fall just to thin them out. I’ll try to remember to do that this fall. Not sure what I’ll do with 100 pounds of jerusalem artichokes, but I’ll think of something. I know I can give a lot of them away, but I’ll need a method of preserving them. Freezing? Dehydrating? Hmmm, sunchips. Could be a new snack sensation! Maybe just mulching and leaving them in the ground, like last winter…

stampede2.jpg
Helianthus Tumbeloverus. Not sure what to do about this mess. Since they’re supposed to be so tough, I may just try going medieval on them.

On a happier note, the garlic is beginning to flower. The flower stalks make this dramatic little curlicue just below the bud. It’s really cool looking. The flowers should be pretty cool looking too, since most allium species flower with lovely umbelliferous blooms that look like fireworks explosions. Won’t be seeing those flowers for a few weeks yet.

allium2.jpg

allium1.jpg
This one’s tying itself into a knot.

We often have leeks in their second year of growth, which is when they flower. They grow huge stalks 4 or 5 feet high with spectacular baseball-sized flowers. We will be trying to harvest seed from this garlic, which is an organic variety given to us by a friend. It was planted last fall, along with some store-bought garlic. All the store-bought garlic sprouted in the early spring, but didn’t survive. It came up too fast and got frosted too badly. I guess.

chamomile3.jpg
It’s the chamomile again. Doesn’t this picture just make you happy? It’s like looking at the stars on a clear and moonless night.

Responses

  1. As I read your blog and view a few of your followers blogs, it is a new experience for me. I’m not really sure what medium the blog is. On the one hand it strikes me very much like those wonderful pix of garlic you are growing, the curl back on themselves, just growing. I’m wondering if that is in part what thoughts-0-dave does–it may grow and expand without definite direction, yet with purpose. Rather than call out or seduce, it seems to invite in its repose, much like the sensorial experience of a buddhist garden. One wonders in, sits alone, sits with others, sits. And then no longer sitting. The thoughts and reflections here offer gentle escape from the philosophical, engendering more the existential and the phenomenological.

  2. Thanks Peter, for that very thouhtful and pithy comment! I think you have made some really keen observations, and nice analogies too. The Buddhist garden analogy is especially apt, if not a bit too kind. Unfortunately, a lot of blogs are pure crap. But then, gardens need crap don’t they?

    It (blogging) still feels like a new experience to me too and I’m not really sure what medium it is either. My first posts were rather skeptical and dismissive of the whole idea. But now it’s very compelling, to read and to write. Sometimes I like to click on the “Go to random blog” icon, like spinning the wheel of misfortune.

    Sometimes something will “bubble up” in my brain during the day and I’ll think “that would be an interesting thing to blog about”. I’ve never been one to keep a diary or journal of any kind, no discipline. But I’ve always liked to write, and somehow blogging doesn’t seem like an “effort”. Yet. That may change, who knows?

  3. My cat came first! I got here to see lovely Alice basking in the sun on graduation day. And now I find myself coming back just to see the garden and read your blogs. I think it would be pretty great to have a home-grown horseradish on the seder plate in the spring! Also, one more thing – -if you find yourself impaled by someone’s lance don’t take it out because you will bleed to death — same principal as the tack in the tire — click home and then remove it!

  4. Hi Carol, I need to send you a couple of the other photos I took at the graduation party. And sorry, no horseradish planted. It is something that I’d like to try growning though.

    Thanks for looking at the blog.

    On the tack in the tire- my tires are inflated to 90psi and I was afraid of a more dramatic failure if I left the tack in- like a blowout. Today I rode the bike with the more rugged tires.

  5. As big as a baseball, the flower of leeks! And your wife’s pony, is it now alone? Does it like being alone? I thought that ponies are very small horses, not much bigger than donkeys, but yours is as big as a horse. How can one tell it is a pony and not a horse?

    Of course I have been wondering how far you got removing snow. And whether you finally had to climb up onto the roof.

    Today (Feb 27, 2013) I may have to finally climb onto the roof. It’s snowing heavily and I’m home from work, college is closed.

    Apparently the term “pony” is applied to smaller horse breeds with certain characteristics. It’s not strictly a size classification. My wife’s department …

  6. This is many years back up there, but why would Peter consider this a Buddhist garden? The chamomile look happy, true, and what could that name mean? My name means lion’s tooth, but it is also a flower and is named for its leaves, not for the flower. The spelling is so strange that one can’t see the origin anymore.

    Have these chamomile come up spontaneously? They use them to make tea. I wish it were spring already. Where I live the elms have started to blossom and I am allergic to their spores or seeds and so I cannot go out now.

    I think Peter was just ‘riffing’ on the garden imagery as it related to his perceptions of the nature of my blog and blogging in general.

    The chamomile flowers were “volunteers” yes. They never reappeared after that year. These were a different cultivar from that used for making tea.

    • Ah! Different from! That I should live to see the day! Sometimes one has to change everything around to accommodate it. It should be used as an apposition, the same as superior to, inferfior to, similar to:

      I have a car (that is) similar to yours
      I have a cat greatly superior to yours.
      I have a superior cat to you????? …..See? A severe misunderstanding or an impolite comparison
      A have a different cat from you?
      I have a cat (that is) different from yours.,

      No, my cat is the same. 🙂

  7. Oh! I see you say “different than”. At school I was told that this was wrong because they say that “different” is not a comparative like “bigger” or “smaller” or “more expensive” than, but I also read that you actually work at a school and so you would naturally know. ….. And I did try to find out what chamomile means, but it is of Greek origin and I think it is not a very nice origin, as it used to mean “Earth apple” because of their scent….

    Working at a college is helpful, but does not keep me from making stupid grammatical errors in my native tongue. Thank you for your correction.

    What do you find “not very nice” about the “Earth apple” etymology?

  8. Because once I took a course on French cuisine and there I learnt that, in French, potatoes are called pommes de terre which means Earth apples, and so this changes the chamomile changed into a potatoe, but not only in French! Because I could not believe it I checked in a dictionary and found out that in German potatoes are also called Earth apples! However, don’t ask me to spell that, because you know how German is, where they spell everything backwards and also several words all in one.

    Since you work for a school you would know that Mark Twain wrote about learning German and said that somebody once fell severely ill, because a German word had got stuck in his intestines, and the doctors had to open his belly to take the word out and it measured 37.3 inches.

    I’m glad you dropped the “34” from your name. 34 is not a very nice number. Twice 17 and all.

    I still don’t see what is not nice about coming from of being of “Earth”. Is it because earth is also a word for “dirt” or soil?

    That’s a funny Twain quote. New to me. Just a couple inches shy of a meter.

  9. No, I don’t think “earth” and dirt get mixed up, and both in French and in Spanish “earth” is used both for “soil” and the name of this planet. In German it is “Erde” . As to Mark Twain’s story, it is fairly long and best when he makes fun of the German for “h”, “she” and “it” which are not used according to sexual properties at all. I’ll try to imitate that:

    I like this onion soup,and I wonder how she is made. I could add some Pepper. Where is he? Did you take him away? Or give me parsley. She is just as good. I’ll add her also to my salad. He is always nice with parsley.

    Couldn’t do it right. Twain is really funny. This just sounds odd.

  10. I am not hung up on “different than”. This page gives you the wrong impression. Absolutely. But it is a bug.

    I know you’re not hung up on it, and I truly appreciate all edits and corrections.


Leave a Reply

Categories

