Posted by: David | May 28, 2007

Memorial Day Garden Update

 flag.jpg
Notice anything different about this flag?

Besides being a day to recall the fallen soldiers and the horrors of war (we set aside a day for that, but will war EVER be the distant memory we wish it was?), Memorial Day is also a traditional day for folks in New England to begin their gardening activities. I spent quite a bit of time Sunday morning in the garden. First, I waged war against the witchgrass in the asparagus bed.

asparag-b4.jpg
Remember the besieged asparagus?

Now, I’m not really positive that the enemy is panicum cappilare, but that did not stop the genocide. It was a war of attrition, and I did all the attritting. It took 2 hours plus to wipe out the nasty grass, and leave the asparagus standing.

weeding2.jpg
… I love the smell of witchgrass in the morning …

witchgrassroots.jpg
DIE witchgrass, DIE!! Hand to root combat up close.

peppers.jpg
The peppers silent as the witchgrass fell 5 beds west.

OK, enough of the Memorial Day Garden War theme. Also planted a bed of Yukon Gold potatoes. Whole, leftover in our root cellar from last year’s crop. They had long white sprouts from their eyes. They should be emerging in a week or so. After that activity I did some weedwhacking and mowing. At around 3 in the afternoon I went for a bike ride around Lake Sunapee. It got kind of gray and threatening, but I managed to avoid the rain.

giantocr3.jpg
My $500 starter road bike. I think I need something better next year.

The excavator waits. Maybe tomorrow … Couldn’t resist having a little closer look at it.

catwaits2.jpg

catbirdseat.jpg
I bet this is fun! Yeah, they left the key in it.

Responses

  1. I bet this is fun! Yeah, they left the key in it.

    Demon Dave : Go Ahead, turn it on, drive it. Only a little. No one is watching.
    Angel Dave : Yeah, go ahead. Besides, they were going to dig too, weren’t they?
    Demon Dave : Yeah… see, they left the key in for ya
    Angel Dave : Hey, I’ll take pictures! We can blog about it.
    Demon Dave : Yeah!


Leave a Reply

Categories

