Posted by: David | September 2, 2013

Labor Day 2013

So I went to work today. And yesterday, and the day before. This week is when all our new students arrive, along with returning faculty, most of whom have  avoided their offices since a week or two after last May’s commencement. We year-round staff are all abuzz with excitement and busy-ness, excited to see our new and returning students and feverishly getting every last little detail ready for them.

The longer I wait, the more up-to-date the computer labs will be when the students arrive.

The longer I wait, the more up-to-date the computer labs will be when the students arrive.

I set a couple of keyboards on top of the paper towel dispenser. They fall down (as granddaughter says).

I set a couple of keyboards on top of the paper towel dispenser. They fall down (as granddaughter says).

August just zips by so fast. Now it’s gone. The corn, as the saying goes, is now in the freezer. They don’t say that do they? What evs. I just did. This post will feature more photos than words, lucky for you, dear reader.

Sweet corn. Critters enjoyed a few ears too.

Sweet corn. Critters enjoyed a few ears too. A cute young fox found its way into the Havahart trap. It had blue eyes. Wish I’d taken a picture before releasing it.

Processed 51 ears. Smaller crop than usual.

Processed 51 ears. Smaller crop than usual.

Managed to get in a few nice bike rides in the first half of August. I’m now way overdue. Though my sanity is safe, I tweeted this question, which struck me as slightly hilarious: Ever feel like you’re living your own life vicariously? I like to respond to the tweets and Facebook posts of famous comedians too. Thought you should know. They generally don’t respond. Never actually. Although, once, at the mention gourmet jelly beans in an early blog post, the actual inventor of Jelly Belly brand jelly beans left a comment. As I now Google his name, this sort of sad story appears … He left a nice comment though.

THIS IS A TEST SITE.

THIS IS A TEST SITE.

Feeling somewhat random. It’s just fatigue. Don’t worry, I’ll be fine.

Zinnia grown in one of my wife's many lovely flower gardens.

Zinnia bloom in one of my wife’s many lovely flower gardens.

A few weeks back we had some great weather, dry and not too hot, but good and sunny. Perfect weather for the farmers around here to cut, dry and bale their hay. On one nice bike ride through Henniker and Hillsborough there were no less than 3 or 4 different farms at various stages of the process.

This, perhaps, is the world's smallest hayfield. It's in Henniker.

This, perhaps, is the world’s smallest hayfield. It’s in Henniker.

And here's the latest in green pavement. Actually it's just preparation for a skating rink coming this winter.

And here’s the latest in green pavement. Actually it’s just preparation for a skating rink coming this winter to the campus quad.

So a few weeks back I was shopping and stopped to look at all the many premium ales at the Market Basket. One stood out.

So a few weeks back I was shopping and stopped to look at all the many premium ales at the Market Basket. One stood out. And it was not Terrible at all.

I sold a freezer and a really old Lange woodstove on Craigslist. Nobody wants the old Rockwell table saw though. Maybe I’ll end up restoring it after all. If I can get parts. Or I’ll put it up by the road with a sign that says FREE. One advantage of living on a state route with a fair amount of traffic. You can recycle stuff pretty easily. We actually had two freezers to get out of the garage. One left by Craigslist and one left via the driveway.

This photo was taken today. It's something we've all seen before.

This photo was taken today. It’s something we’ve all seen before.

Here’s hoping that this week goes well for all of us. Another school year begins.

Responses

  1. That’s a lot of corn to shuck. But I do so love corn on the cob. The photo alone is enough to make me drool. Glad I have dinner in the oven.

    Thank you Pied. Seems like so long ago now. We had our first snow today. A couple inches of fluff. Thanks for reading and commenting.

  2. Without words, photos don’t work. On WordPress there are thousands of photographers and there is Matt himself (the founder of WordPress and also largely the owner). The thousands don’t get hardly any visits. The proof is that they all click on my blog only to “follow” me. And Matt. Have you been there? He probably gets lots of visitors, but they do not leave comments, because, unless the photographer tells me just one thing about his photo, I cannot react, unless I try really hard, which I know how to do but would do only for things I understand and know, and these are not of the visual kind.
    So thanks for the photos, but more for the writing.

    And after all, all these photographers, why do they hang out their photos without explanation?
    After all, photos can be taken by a camera without photographer.

    Thank you cantueso. My evaporative blog process has always involved words and photos, and few are the posts with no images. Being undisciplined and short of time, however, a certain randomness pervades the whole mess.

  3. I would not drink anything called terrible, no matter how good it is. Wait. What?

    Like I said, Terrible was really really good. Never tasted anything quite like it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 76 other followers

